Jo-shoe aka Jesus: a beautiful piece in Prague's DOX museum!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody, in these days I'm pretty busy with a lot of work for my new website, so I didn't post much recently.

I'm sorry for the few of you who were used to find long stories or colorful posts: they'll always find space here but maybe less frequently. The next days, I'll start posting some pictures or stories I've collected in the last months.

I would like to start talking about a nice visit to Prague's DOX museum - Centre for Contemporary Art - in which I have found some really interesting - and, for me, unknown - artists. I'll tell you more about them in the next posts.

christ.jpg

Today I want to focus on this Christ made out of old shoes. This installation is made by Petr Motyčka (born in 1971), and it consists of approximately 1444 shoes (mostly single).

christ5.jpg

The entire structure weighs over 500 kg and it's more than 6 meters tall. As I've found on the internet, the sculpture was taking place on Prague's riverside, at least from the summer of 2010 until the beginning of the next year.

christ3.jpg

Only then it has been modified and has found its place in the DOX museum.

christ4.jpg

It is not a single piece but belongs to a wider collection towards the theme of crucifixion.

NOTE

- All pictures are exclusive property of the author.






Follow me @bronsedi

Sort:  

che figata...un saluto @giornalista

Bello e originale...
Posso farti una domanda: ma perchè non l'hai scritto anche in Italiano?

Mah, dipende da come mi gira in realtà! Sono molto impegnato con il nuovo sito e non ho più postato nulla recentemente, quindi mi son imposto di riprendere a ritmo più serrato. Non traduco mai letterlamente i miei post ma li riscrivo da zero senza passare per google translator (che fa pena) e ieri notte non avevo proprio voglia di farlo =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99