Homestead Hobbies!

in #art7 years ago

One of things we like to do here on the homestead is woodcarving.
@anise started taking lessons 10 years ago and as I watched her skills develop she encouraged me to pick up a knife and give it a try, and so I did!

Because it's Christmas Eve I thought I would post a couple of carvings I've done that represent this special time of year.

This is a Santa carrying a Christmas tree to someone somewhere.

image.jpeg

This is an Old World Wandering Santa.

image.jpeg

Here they are together.

image.jpeg

If you've always wanted to do something but aren't sure if you can, just give it a try as you might be pleasantly surprised. I would never have thought this wood (haha) be something in my wheelhouse!

MERRY CHRISTMAS from our homestead to yours!

Sort:  

These are great! I love the expression on wandering Santa's face. Carved wooden pieces are such a delight! I have a box with leaves that my grandfather made and,on top of the beauty of the artwork, there is a feeling of nostalgia that just comes from seeing the wood that my grandfather held and carved just for me.

It sounds like you have a treasure!

Wow it's really cool. A lot of hrd work and patience i see in this art. Merry Christmas.

Thank you Brother.
Merry Christmas!

Those are INCREDIBLE!! What a talent and a skill you and @anise have now!

Awwww, thanks😊

These are indeed works of art - they are lovely! Happy Christmas / Merry Yule from our hearth to yours! xo

Thank you!
Merry Christmas, we'll try to stop by Greyhouse and spread some Christmas cheer!

Those are really nicely done!
I used to carve when I was younger, but it was mostly spoons. I did a few animals back then, but nothing like the type of carvings that you're doing.

Thanks for taking a look!
Do you have any of your carvings to display on steemit, eh?
Merry Christmas 🎄

I do have a few of my carvings around the house. most of them are unfinished.

Maybe putting them on display here would be the impetus needing to get them finished??

You could be right... :-)

Those are really cool! Their wimsical expressions gave me a chuckle. Merry Christmas Brother!

Thank you Brother "G"

Those are really amazing!
I used to work with self taught artists that were making things like that. And they were selling pretty good :)

Thank you!

Congratulations for the wonderful hands and the great creativity. It is a valuable art. Greetings.

Greetings, and thank you.

Wow! An amazing works! I really enjoyed!

Thank you, glad you enjoyed.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50