Zombie Pinup Face Paint

in #art4 years ago

D69A617C-4310-4428-8F1E-F8742829D842.jpeg
Something a little out of season perhaps, but I just had to share with you all my look for last Halloween!
This was the first time I'd ever used face paints and I was convinced I was going to make a mess of it, so I started applying the makeup really early in the day, just in case I had to wash it all off and start over. I turned out pretty awesome for my first attempt and so I ended up sitting around my house for a good hour or two, all zombiefied, just waiting to leave for the burlesque show I was attending.
FA8CBD63-298B-480A-852B-0352A31B815A.jpeg
I used Snazaroo face paint in lime green as the base colour. I was surprised at how good the coverage and how strongly pigmented the colour was, considering this is a pretty cheap face paint! Once the paint had dried I then set to contouring. I used purple eyeshadow for this, and blended it into the areas I wanted to create depth, such as the hollows of my cheeks and my collarbone. I also worked the purple heavily around my eyes to create a sunken eye look. I then went in with a shimmering powder highlighter to my cheek bones, the tip of my nose and to areas like the tendons in my neck and along my collarbone and shoulders.
Of course being a pinup zombie, I had to go in with a bright red lip and false lashes!
CDEA82F4-89F6-4B7C-92D9-A7FEE083C407.jpeg
Earlier that day I had rushed around my tiny local town in desperation trying to find fake blood! Just as I was about to give up, I found one lonely pot of spray blood at the bottom of a discount basket. JACKPOT!
I had originally wanted a blood that I could drop onto myself, so it dropped down my face. So I used the bottom end of the spray nozzle to drop the blood onto my temple, and then added more purple eyeshadow to darken the source of the drip.
I was a little apprehensive at first about using the actual spray. I had just spent all this time creating this look and I was so pleased with it, what if the spray blood went everywhere and messed it up?
I had to psych myself up for this! I tried a little spray just on my inner arm as I knew this would be covered by my dress...it was perfect! The blood splattered across my arm and onto my chest. At this point I was all in! SOLD! I added a splatter to my temple, to the side of my mouth and a little more across my chest and down my neck. I actually had to stop myself from getting carried away, because it was way too much fun!
40075C4D-7ACA-4083-A5EE-DDA0583198C1.jpeg
To finish the look I added my bright yellow wig that I had bought a few Halloween's back and had only worn that once. I loved the wig and felt it deserved another outing, however I was worried it may clash with the green, but it was perfect!

Not a single person recognised me at the show! Other than those that had seen me post a quick selfie on social media. I had people messaging me the next day to say they were so sorry for not coming over to say hi, they had no idea it was me. Even one lady I had a full blown conversation with was too polite at the time to say she didn't know who I was 😂

If I learnt anything from this, it's that i should never assume I can't do something... and that I look amazing in green! 🧟‍♀️ 😂
And that face recognition on my phone does not work for an entire week after being green!

Sort:  

Awesome look reminds me a lot of poison ivy from the batman comics! Lol I think we could all do with a little hidden identity once in a while, let your alter ego play around for a bit

Yes! It was great not being recognised, It gives you a strange sort of confidence being masked behind paint.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Congratulations @bettynoir! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11