Good ol'time, good ol'pastels...

in #art5 years ago (edited)
After a recent chat with our dear @veryspider, during wich I stated my old work was probably gone and dead since a long time, I decided to step into an old room I didn't use since a few years except as a storage...

I had the surprise to find a forgotten metallic panel on which a couple of old - and somewhat damaged - pastels were stuck with magnets.

Old_Pastels.JPG



These are survivors from 2010-2012. During that period I didn't really attach any value to my finished work and did erase or dump it with no big remorses.

Let's make the introductions :

1- Kirsten Alvodiar

old_Pastels02-KirstenAlvodiar.JPG

Inspired by an NPC character I created to put some rough action in scenarios that I was playing with a friend, long time before painting this. That young lady was an embodiment of anger and impulsiveness, leading her fellow player character into chaotic situations each time he thought everything was perfectly planned.

I remember I always loved building rich personalities for NPC characters, so players could really hate or love them. I've been surprised by the emotional charge that came when finding back this piece.

I was also surprised to see I had prepared the work with a graphite sketch...
That's something I never do.
That was probably because I have never been at ease when working on portraits.

2- the Swamp Beast & the Skeleton

old_Pastels01.JPG

These were commissions for a web-based RPG, Nacridan. I already presented a few month ago some digital work made for them.

These commisions forced me to try graphic stuff I wouldn't have tried in other circumstances, and that was very interesting at that time to build something from only text references and descriptions.

Nowadays, I don't like to work like that anymore, but it has taught me a lot.

Seeing these again recalled me the feelings I had at this time about creating... That was both painful during work and grateful when getting some results at the end.

I'm glad that nowadays, the painful part has completely vanished in favour of more fulfilling feelings :D

That's all !

Have a nice day, dear Steemians, and take care ! :)

Sort:  

Wow! Great works! I very like the pastel thechnique!

Thanks :)
Me too, even if I don't use it a lot.
It's a medium full of possibilities :)

Dear Artist @berien ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow community account. See you soon !

thanks a lot :)

These are lovely so I am glad you decided to show us your old artworks, berien :).
                       
And it's good to know that the painful part has completely vanished. I wish to reach your stage of fulfillment too as an artist ^_^.

Glad you liked them :)
For the fulfillment, I just follow a simple path : aiming at learning through creation and taking the the final result as a material bonus ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you :)

Very nice, @berien ! I am amazed at artists who can do pastels well, such as yourself :) Wonderful that you have gained a lot from braving unfamiliar methods :) :) :)

For my part I'm amazed at all people who deal greatly with painting... Lot's of problematics I can't figure out when trying to play with paint :D

I find pastel usage very intuitive, almost like pointillism, but with colour and ability to soften after application.

I only regret the constraints when it comes to preserve it. I wish I could find a way to fix it, but in an unusual way... Like under resin or something like that :)

They´re truly beautiful, @berien. I love the deep sad look of her eyes and the swamp beast. The slightly blurry effect gives them the appearance of being old photographs.

Thanks, @patschwork :)
Part of the blur is due to pastel technique itself, another significant part is due to passed time : pastel has taken some damage and some dust has invited itself on the paper :)

How big the pieces are?

The portrait is on A3 format.
I have a doubt about other ones (sorry, I can't check right now) : that was A4 and/or 24*32cm. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73