Framed ! The wrecked painting's framing attempt :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody :)

Let's come back to that framing attempt I planned last time on a multi panel drawing.

Until now, my main skill concerning frames was failing at measuring the right length of wood strips and failing at building simple squared angled structures...

An example ?

OK, Look at this... so nice :


 


No surprise, I was wondering what could happen with this one :


At least, I was pretty sure that I wouldn't have to rely on my legendary ability to deal with right-angled corners. And of course, as rules are boring tools, I decided to try without any :p

 

First try : "Complete success !" (Hmmm ? Any comment ? None ? Good !)



OK, I admit :

I wanted to test something a bit more complex than building a simple frame.

I wanted also to discover how to fix gaps and build rather seamless structures. Approximate measurements and wanted mistakes are excellent tools for gathering some knowledge about simple wood working.

Wooden strips were glued on the sides. Panels and cardboard back are as deep as the side strips, and so offer a stable support.

Reusing small wood scraps and wood dust mixed with glue I obtained some sort of wood dough (a bit too granular) that could be sanded down afterwards. All the scraps and dust were gathered from previous wood strip cutting.

Our previous gap is now filled and leveled.


I've been pretty happy with that result, and even more because it was given by a method I wouldn't have imagined without looking for troubles.

I simply love that way of learning.

It often implies to reinvent the wheel, which in my opinion is a good thing : this makes rediscover basic approaches that we may have forgotten, deeply buried under generations of technical progress and automation. :)


 

Rinse and repeat with other disgraceful seams.

These ones were less obvious than the first one, small joints and cracks.

Sanding down is still required if we want something smooth, and then as a finishing touch : some Gesso where it's needed, before a generous layer of painting :)


Here's the latest evolution. Drawing is still waiting for some more work, but I won't do much on it as long as there will be risks of painting or glue projections :)


Here we are for today, Ladies and Gents !

Have fun, and seek for troubles ! (... and then, repair :p )

 

 

(c) Berien 2018


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/techniques-mixtes/framed-the-wrecked-paintings-framing-attempt/

Sort:  

That is wonderfully unique! I can appreciate your angle trouble! I hired a handyman to do some household repairs, and watched him spend much of the morning cutting up many pieces of wood before he finally cut an angle that I assured him was good enough!

Thank you @melinda010100 :) Glad you appreciate :)

Ah ! Angles... They also remind me why I couldn't bear maths courses and geometrics when I was younger :D

Have a nice day ;)

My brain does not work well with numbers! I never did well with any math classes, either!

I love the overall teardrop pyramid rhyno horn shape of the tile background. Really interesting. Your drawing is somehow even trippier with my mind trying to make sense of the square tile lines as well. This is awesome

Thanks a lot @carlgnash - really appreciated :)

It took a bunch of time before I knew how to deal with these separation lines between panels... And the obvious answer was to let them as they were :D

The frame, though, couldn't suffer this approach, just for contrast's sake :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you :)

AAAAAAAAAAAAH you are a miracle worker, @berien ! This is looking really neat <3 I love the strange framing and how you battled the .... ah, slight hiccups in the framing border work :D

Gorgeous post, it made me laugh a lot too <3

Hehe ! Glad you laughed :D I had fun at writting it :)
Thanks a lot ;)

That is a very unusual border, it makes the painting looks so unique and fresh. I like it, and of course the fact that you moved onward even with the trouble :).

That was a fulfilling experience. Plenty of small practical knowledge :)
I think I'll work on some other weird-shaped multi-parts pieces like this one.

(I started a new one last week, only to realize I didin't have any other panel of the same depth left :D )

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.25% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73