B.O.A.R. - Beast Of Anger & Rage

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time...


...There were these people, guided by an extinguishable will to understand and control Imaginary Lands's chaos.

They started to gather bits and scraps of anything, out there, that could be ruled, handled, and manipulated.

Slowly...


Patiently...

Piece after piece, they assembled something that they wished would be related to Law, or Reality.

They wished...

But in their insufficient knowledge of what was really... real...

... All they managed to create was an unstoppable Beast Of Anger and Rage, that everyone would call the BOAR !


People ! Be advised not to struggle against the Boar...

Try to tame it;
Try to walk with it,
And try to protect it when it blindly charge at anything that threatens your Imaginary Lands !


Here were are, with that small piece of tale :)

I've already posted the first graphite version of the Boar in an aborted story that had nowhere to go, but I had the feeling I had to play a bit more with this specific character, both with words and with colors.

This time, I used Posca pens for the coloring and found these very interesting : rich in possibilities by the different techniques they open to. I might have to explore that a bit more.

  • Support : fiberboard small panel ( L:23.5cm / l:12.5cm)
  • Background : acrylic paint & gesso
  • Main colors : Posca acrylic pens
  • glazing with acrylic binder and/or varnish between main steps of work
  • WIP : some more refining touches are waiting for the latest glaze layer to dry. Nothing that should really alter the overall picture, but instead that should make it cleaner and defined :)

That's all Folks ! :)

Have a nice day !

and... Beware of the Boar :)


(c) Berien 2018 - (https://steemit.com/@berien) - (https://berien.com)

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://berien.com/animal/b-o-a-r-beast-of-anger-rage/

Sort:  

Really nicely designed, Pascal :) I love the snout in particular hahaha :) The mechanical parts are beautifully automaton like <3

Thanks a lot :)
I've been a bit clumsy with posca pens on small details;I wished I could do finer elements, but that gave me some insight on how to deal with these toys :)

I like this steampunk boar. A lovely design, especially its fin :D.

Great work and interesting story:)

Thanks for your support @sweettais :)
Glad you appreciated it :)

Dear Artist @berien ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow community account. See you soon !

Thanks a lot ! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you, very much :)

Beast of Anger & Rage -- it feels like taken straight from a steampunk version of Dante's Inferno! Great work.

Thank you @nyarlathotep :)
I didn't know Dante's Inferno (the game) until now, but after viewing a couple of videos I've found an interesting revisit of the Divine Comedy's theme :)
I like this kind of ambiance :D

Oh there is a game, too?! I meant the classical text, with captions like "Geryon, the Beast of Fraud."

Ah ah :D

To be honest, I've never read the classical in my own language, and I had a doubt about the english title, hence the research that made me discover the video game :)

Of course, I "know" what's the main path of Dante has to follow, simply due to global and passive culture, but never took the opportunity to read it actively.

That said, just after my previous answer I've downloaded an ebook version out of curiosity. I wouldn't have expected that classic poetry could be a pleasant reading, and though, the first pages of the file were.

I won't say I'll read it entirely, but I might go a bit further :D

Well, that is an interesting one, that inspired many artists, writers & designers. It is also famous for its illustrations by Gustav Dore -- i've made a post about it a year ago: https://steemit.com/art/@nyarlathotep/dante-s-infernal-fractals

That post is great :)

You make a wonderful work with fractals.

Looking at them, I have the same feeling of deepness that when I spend some time at doing some pointillist artwork.

And btw : Gustave Doré's work made me try pointillism when I was younger. I didn't understand how were made these incredible pictures...
So, as I didn't know anything about gravure, I started to try by punching paper sheets with myriads of dots, thinking that was the way to go.

That wasn't, but I kept the technique :D

@berien, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Congratulations @berien! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi, @berien!

You just got a 0.67% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thanks :)
With or without these upvotes : great plugin :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80