CERAMIC SCULPTURE 1 / Samarai Warrior

in #art8 years ago (edited)

From My Notebook-

This is a cut out section from a magazine picture and one of many sketches it inspired. At the time these were created I was looking to develop a new direction for some of my ceramic sculptures. What I began to see in the sketch (that I liked) was the fullness of the basic shape, and that in the most abstract of ways it was suggested a figure carrying objects.

While working in my notebook I remembered this Japanese woodcut that hangs in my bedroom and I began thinking of how the silhouette of the kimono was so dramatic and how it might become an interesting shape to add to my sculpture.


Samurai #1

This is one of several ceramic sculptures I created using the ideas from my notebook. You can see the influence of my earlier sketch and also see how the pattern of black glaze drapes over the sculpture like a kimono. To me, the sculptural form suggests a ninja warrior.

For more on this series CLICK HERE.


Thank you for supporting my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62405.22
ETH 2436.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62