Fantasy Characters - From sketch to painting - part 1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemions!

As some might be familiar with my work by now ( though I haven't been around for so long,, and already away for almost a week due to a vacation..)
I'm an Illustrator and concept artist that works for fantasy games and are a freelance character designer for the popular RPG 'Pathfinder'.

Over the past few years I've created hundreds of characters for all kinds of purposes.
From boardgames to commercials, background npc's to the leading hero.

All character designs are important as they play a part in making the character believable and fit into the story that they belong to..

I hope i'm still making sense.

Anyway I'd like to share a few character sketches and paintings that I;ve done for people's own 'Pathfinder' & 'Dungeons & Dragons' characters.
The cool thing with these characters is that they where characters the people played with for years.. So when I got the job to design them.. there was so much backstory and material to work with.. Which helps me in the end! :)
Devon-Moonshroud-sketch1b.jpg
Devon-Moonshroud-paint1.jpg
Devon Moonshroud - A necromancer.

Rest of the characters and story will follow in PART 2 - I have to leave to board for my flight home!
EDIT** part 2 - https://steemit.com/art/@beekart/fantasy-characters-from-sketch-to-painting-part-2-anthropomorphic-characters

Talk soon!

Cheers
-Rogier

Sort:  

nice work, I like it

You should check out @battleborn. I might have some work for you....

How much would you charge per character?

Heya! I shall take a look ;) I normally charge 200$ per character.

They certainly look worthy of such a price, though that may be a bit rich for a lowly startup. I'd need 6-12 just to start, and I don't have a couple extra grand to spend on character designs 😢

I love how subtle the colors are. Great job.

Thank you very much!

These are so great!!! The bones all over his armor are a great touch.

Thank you :)

excellent work as usual!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow these are incredible, you have really good skills! It's just great to find such talented artists here on steemit :)

Thanks @aleduruy ! Steem is filled with amazing artists, i found alot of em, the last few weeks! :)

That's awesome! Very talented.

Fell in love with the pencils until I saw the painted version. Can't wait to see the D&D characters. I've thought about creating one but I'm not entirely committed yet.

hehe thanks you! I have more,, will be posting them soon! And yes.. you should create your own characters, it is quite cool.. then redesign them every now and then and see how much better you have gotten! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68356.90
ETH 2509.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53