Art - Game of Thrones - portrait studies!

in #art5 years ago

Hey everyone!

Last year I spend a while making a series of portraits of my favourite Game of Thrones characters.
Making studies is always very important when you want to get better.

What you learn when studying, you can apply to you imaginative works. So if you make studies making realistic portraits like these, you learn more about facial anatomy and features and how skin colors reflects/reacts in certain light.
There are tons of things you learn when taking the time to really sit down, and try to make the best representation of the subject you are studying.

I can't advice it enough to aspiring artists.. do you studies! Just making work from imagination is fun and sure, u will learn things on your own.. but not in the same pace as making studies, from live, from other artists, movie stills and books.

Anyway! Here are the portraits I was talking about ;)

Untitled-1.png
Untitled-2.png
2017-49B.png2017-50.jpg2017-51.png
2017-52.jpg2017-53.png2017-59.png2017-57.png
Especially the ones in the very muted light, like Arya and Mellisandre I found the most difficult.
But it helped me get better at what I do, so it was all very much worth it! :)

Hope you like it!

If you have any questions, please feel free!

Cheers!

Rogier / @beekart

Sort:  

Wow! Is it oil paintings or digital tablet ?

Thank you :D I painted this digitall yep!

The hype is over the top for the last season.
It's incredible what this series should be able to do in the collective community of fan all around the world

Posted using Partiko Android

Being a science students I must say science is also a art. There is no existance of the world without art.
yes you are right, it is very necessary to keep studying make yourself better.
The portraits are really lively and beautyfull.

Those are really really great. I'm myself a fan of portraiture for some time now , but definitely not as goid. Still a long way until I reach your level but will try:)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much @longer matter of practice right ! Just gotta keep working at it!

Nice, I don't think I saw what medium you are working in? Oils? Or some digital stuff? Looks great whatever you're doing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I painted these portraits digitally with a wacom tablet. Thank you!

This is absolutely amazing! Arya is def my fav character and your rendition looks perfect!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much ;) Glad you like it!

Incredible artwork. Much appreciated, thank you for sharing.

These are all very nice portrait studies, Rogier. Not only that you painted each of them excellently, you also captured their expressions and the characters' personalities. Well done :D.
                       
I hope the last season will be good ^_^.

Thank you so much @scrawly :D :D i hope so too! still gotta wait a while tho! :')


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

They look so realistic. Excellent work drawing these up!

Thank you very much!

You're very welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87