BEASTLY TALES - FRESH!

in #art5 years ago

Welcome to Beastly Tales. Each has a message, a moral. All are meant to have an element of humour. Naturally, any names included do not depict real folk but are included as part of the joke.

All rights reserved.
(As with Beastly Banter Beastly Tales is written and illustrated by Richard Hersel.)

Thank you for your following.
Richard Hersel


BEASTLY TALES

FRESH!

Friendship is a plus factor in life,
One can be friends with family and wife,
These friendships have demarcations defined,
The boundaries of which aren’t undermined.
Of course with family, one walks the extra mile,
And does so with a most genuine smile.
Happy to do so, recognizing such partnership,
Throughout life’s extraordinary trip.

Friendship beyond family can be categorized,
“Best Friend” is a term rarely criticized,
But other friends can be valuable too,
Provided they don’t expect demarcations not due.
Perhaps we could now consider examples of these,
The “taking advantage” type who one should freeze,
Out of one’s social ambit, if you please.

A family just sits down for their lunch,
When they hear, from outside, the gravel crunch.
When they open the door, after a knock,
They are then in for a rather unpleasant shock.
There stands Audrey, from the sewing bee,
“We just thought we’d drop in for tea”,
“This is my dear uncle and aunt, this my mother,”
“And, while we are at it, my sister and brother,”
“Don’t let us stop you in what you were doing.”
“My goodness, it’s lunchtime, peckish, lunch we’re pursuing”
The family reluctantly offers them lunch,
It’s not that they’re a mingy or miserly bunch,
It’s because of the inconsiderate timing,
Inviting themselves to lunch through stealth and miming.
Those people broke many cardinal rules,
Acting thus, like uncaring fools.

Are you going to the movies soon?
To see the show, main feature and cartoon.
“That would be lovely, a nice day out,”
Happiness sometimes causes one to shout.”
“Oh, no, just my kids, with you and yours,”
“I’m off to town to do some chores.”

“I need some sugar, flour and tea,”
“You’re my neighbour, handy you be.”
No need to close your door,”
“In next to no time, I’ll be back for more.”
“Can I borrow your car?”
“I promise I won’t drive far.”
A friend in need can be a pest,
A generous friend, now they’re the best!

There’s a difference between helping out,
(One’s prepared to do so, without grumble or shout,)
Being taken advantage of is something else again,
It annoys the being annoyed part of the brain.
A woman babysitting for a friend, being paid quids,
Brings to another friend her, and the other’s kids.
“Could you watch these children for an hour or three”
“I need to go into town to have some tea,”
“With my best friend who is in town,”
‘If she’s free tonight we might double-down.”

A neighbour was out cutting his lawn,
Out came the pest, looking so forlorn,
“I wonder if you could do my lawn too?”
“My mowers on the blink, I think, missing a screw.”

Your friend now stands at your door,
He looks somewhat vacant, as if unsure.
“My dear chap, I’m a bit short this week,”
“So from you, help I do now seek,”
“Could you, do you think, see your way,”
“To helping me out until next pay?”
“Fifty quid would cover my needs,”
“Being impecunious certainly breeds,”
“A reliance only on best of friends,”
“Permitting one the meeting of ends.”
“Yes, to cover something I hold most dear,”
“And that, of course, goes by the name of beer!”
“For me you can do no wrong,”
“Please do hasten, I can’t stay long.”
“I’ve got to go to get ready,”
“I’m off to the races with friend Eddy!”

And so, as this study we do end,
I’m off to see my best friend,
Or, at least, if I had one I would,
Perhaps if I could get one, I would if I could.

Fresh.png

Sort:  

Hahaha, 😂😂😂 I have had a couple of experiences very much like these. "A friend in need can be a pest," so true!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @beastlybanter
BuildTeam wishes everyone a great Christmas and bullish Holidays
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

I miss friends from back in the day and realize how difficult life makes it to find true others - thank you good sir - my upvote & re-steem for you
♥¸.•°”˜˜”°•.✫ B★E★A★U★T★I★F★U★L ✫¸.•°”˜˜”°•.♥

Congratulations @beastlybanter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73