A 'Diffused' Message Across The Years From bargeTheYounger

in #art6 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

page divider shroomz1.png

Context & Background:

  • Jan 1990: left India for Scotland, age 17.5
  • Nov 1990 - Nov 1992: went traveling and working round Europe & Near-East

I then returned to Scotland after having experienced life beyond the reach of schedules and outside the rules. I worked only as much as I needed in order to save money so that I could set off for 'unknown' lands where nobody knew me; this I followed through on and repeated - thumb, rucksack, sleeping-bag, mat and often, no map. But now in early 1993, I was preparing to go to University; it was cold and I was depressed. I hadn't found what I didn't know I was looking for; my former value systems were switching themselves off and there were no replacements, just a void.

I took a week off and hitch-hiked to Amsterdam in Feb 1993. There, by the banks of a canal, smoking some fine weed, the mental clouds parted for a few brief moments of Radiant Sunshine, and the following was expressed on a scrap of paper:

Sublimation of thought into its purest form
Snow and ice covering a complicated world, a cruel world
and eyes frozen too deep to see and understand
Awake to a vision of perspectives
transcending and quiet
No more diffused misunderstandings
just peace and simplicity.

page divider shroomz1.png

Jumping on a few years...

The poem remained asleep, copied into each new annual diary along with the others (pretty raw stuff). BargeTheYounger went off traveling during summer holidays; then spent a pseudo-academic year away where he followed the Nile and explored the Levant, but his restlessness was never satisfied.

In the Autumn of 1996, I got a tub of magic mushrooms from the fields around St. Andrews, where I was studying. It was my first ever season of mushroom taking and I ended up consuming the majority of them alone in my room, perhaps half-a-dozen sessions over a 6-week period. I didn't really have much idea what I was doing, just went with the flow. I survived I guess!

The flow turned out to shape my one and only masterpiece, as I unashamedly and subjectively consider it to be. I gave the original away to a friend shortly after it was finished, but I did think to make a copy. A high-res scan of a photocopy taken in the mid-late 1990s is therefore all I have to present, so please excuse the poor quality and lack of detail. I've never been able to draw anyway.

I have no recall of how long, how many sessions etc. There was no 'vision', only those mystical sounding words written in Amsterdam. The magic Psilocybin space gave them shape and they drew themselves, albeit with a typo lol. Tell you what, I'd be delighted to give an SBI share to the first person that spots the typo and sez so in the comments :).

Here it is, this message from the young dude - biro or felt-tip black & white, broken into parts and then reassembled in a final composite image. It has only been lately - after turning 40, that I feel myself to have really understood whatever it was that my confused, sad and lonely younger self was channeling (from our Higher Self of course :). This message has been a steadfast ally through difficult times. I draw much hope, comfort and now, even a sense of reality from it.

It paints my inner revolution.

Thanks for reading 🔆

@barge

page divider shroomz1.png

Sublimation

01.jpg

of thought into its

02.jpg

purest form

03.jpg

Snow and ice covering a complicated world, a cruel world

04.jpg

and eyes frozen too deep to see and understand

05.jpg

Awake

06.jpg

to a vision of perspectives

07.jpg

transcending and quiet

08.jpg

No more diffused misunderstandings

09.jpg

just peace and simplicity

10.jpg

page divider shroomz1.png

completeBarge.jpg

page divider shroomz1.png

blogmap-footer image.png

Sort:  

Highly rEsteemed!

to a vision of perspectives

It looks like the second E in Perspectives might have been added after a typo...
just my perspective Bruv... but it really is beautiful stuff my man... ; )

Begin it - Goethe.png

Thanks Frank 🔆 ....and have to hand it to you as well, coz what you spotted, although not what I had had in mind, is defo an omission of the 'e', which I later had to make good and squash in - had forgotten about it.
With great pleasure:
image.png

I love these word/art doodles! I am privy to scribbling things like this myself. so cool!

Your stuff is great, I've really enjoyed reading your art-poetry 🔆

Thank you!

1993, the year I met RTB. He was 21.
I wanted to travel myself, but meeting RTB took me in a different direction. Instead we traveled later in life, but only to one place.

40 does seem to be a rough age where some things start to slot in place and make more sense. Or maybe any age where we finally let go of those things that just never really made sense.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love that RTB is a fellow Water Rat. And I do not think there are many places further for you to have traveled to :P. On the lead up to my 40th I'd respond to the 'Oh isn't it depressing to turn 40' sentiment with "They say life begins again at 40", it became my standard response and I began to kinda believe it somehow. Anyway, looking back now, it definitely did happen like that.

Wow. I love this kind of self expression, channeled selflessly into art. Whether it trancends or transcends I really can’t say, but I love it all the same!

Was this when you were living out by Safeway?

LOL, trust you to unearth a typo Cams, Mista Grammar Paparazzi! And yeah, this was then, up the hill and oot by Safeway ;-)....dunno if you remember, but you once tried to put a poem ('the river winds' one) to music, this was by the New Inn!
image.png
Cheers man 🔆

Haha. Yeah I think I still have that poem somewhere, in a journal maybe? If I can unearth it I will post it.

wow, this is crazy! I didn't spot the typo! Though I did some scrolling up and down - even with your help, writing the sentences above (I don't know if I could have made out the complete text without)
I really love the full picture! Pretty amazing stuff, and the story to it too.
amazing communication from your younger self!
resteemed

Lol, yeah, it's a bit of a scrambled mess without clarification, especially with the photocopy quality...the typo's in the joint, 'tran-s-cending' 🔆.
thanksFF.jpg

so nice to immortalise that kind of significant moment and share it with the world. I've seen and been inspired by your writing like that - art and drawing in it's own right! Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minismallholding from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @barge!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.752 which ranks you at #12787 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 38 places in the last three days (old rank 12825).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 299 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31