Welcome To Earth - Déjà View

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Earth - Déjà View

vimeo.com/249085002

This is the first version of the Welcome to Earth series of art pieces.

To make it I took apart a VHS tape of the movie Independence Day. I took one end of the tape and put it in one VHS cassette and the other end in another VHS tape and cut holes in the cartridges.

I put the two cassettes into two VCR machines. I left less than one minute of tape between the machines. Then I took the output from both and ran them into one TV. By pressing play on both machines the two signals got mixed up in the TV to give this banding effect.

More to come in this series. At some point I will show some shots of my recording "rig".

This post will show up again as a d.tube post.

Here is what I turned this piece into. The derivative work is a flip art animation called Cigar

Frame from Deja View

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74