You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Art Register #1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

@spaceginger This is a great idea.

  • Most common art you blog about: Mostly my own work and Nam June Paik. My focus is on Electronic Sculpture, Interactive Art, NetArt, Fluxus, Bots, Oscilloscope Animation and music, iPhone photography
  • Interesting short story about yourself and your artistic passions: I have been programming and tinkering with computers since my teenage years. I was horrible at drawing and painting. But then I ran across a Nam June Paik work called "Internet Dweller"
    at a resort. (I need to make a blog post about the work as I have video of it playing.) I incorporated it into one of my sculptures. I studied the work of Paik and found his work interactive, video based but yet physical. He celebrated technology in a playful way but yet also pointed out its flaws. Often we take technology too far. He came up with the term "Electronic Superhighway" when he named one of his sculptures that.
    I realized that I could make things like he did. I could use technology to satirize it. I could make something out of technology that had no purpose other than to communicate an abstract idea or just be beautiful.
    Computers and programming force us into a binary logic, black and white, right and wrong, 1 and 0. I wanted to find the grey area in technology.
    It was also a great stress reliever to take my mind off the worries of life.

(I will have to turn this into a post.) Thanks for the platform.

Sort:  

I forgot a few. Some of my work is inspired by books and I failed to mention Jane Austin and Margaret Atwood as I have made sculptures inspired by their art also.

Hi @bardionson thankyou for quality comment, I can see you are going to do really well here on Steemit. Please note I've made some changes to the Steemit Art Register as I can already see by the great support that this is going to get pretty huge. I would absolutely love to feature your art on the next blog promotion. You should definitely turn your comment into a post so I can promote it for you as it truly deserves as many views as possible!

If you like, you can join us on Discord channel and get more promotions in the future.

Thanks I just saw this. I have a hard time seeing replies to comments in this interface.

Thanks @bardionson. I've done a SAR post for today but I'm going to hopefully do a spotlight post tomorrow and I'll put you in it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76