Linocut: What do you see in this picture?

in #art6 years ago

The question you read above is the one the father of psychoanalysis, Sigmund Freud, constantly asked his patients. It's probably a myth, but I can ask you now the same.

2018-04-17 23.23.46.jpg

When I created the image I had a plot in my head, but what I love most in printmaking that very often the result is unexpected (maybe because I'm a beginner). Small details play the role.

I will tell you how to make a linocut step by step.

First of all, you select the format and make your drawing on the paper.

30710463_10215559219391693_3019255077287231488_n.jpg

(I was inspired by Palle Nielsen)

Then you transfer it to the linoleum, for that you can use transparent paper or make it by looking at the first drawing. You can also avoid the first step and make some random cuts. But remember when you print everything that appears on the paper later will turn to another side (from right to left).

Next step is the cut. Take different knives and do the job. When you make linocut, all high parts will be a printing surface (coloured), all parts below — colourless. Think about it to make a volume.

2018-04-17 23.24.40.jpg

If you print it with the press, you have to prepare a paper, better bigger format and thick. Then you mix the colours and with the platen put it on the surface of the linoleum.

2018-04-17 23.24.32.jpg

2018-04-17 23.24.36.jpg

2018-04-17 23.24.16.jpg

Then you print it with the press. I won't write here all small details, but you can ask me if you are curious.

2018-04-17 23.23.56.jpg

2018-04-17 23.24.20.jpg

2018-04-17 23.23.50.jpg

2018-04-17 23.23.41.jpg

And then you clean!

2018-04-17 23.24.04.jpg

For me, linocut so far was the simplest, regarding time and preparation, but every technique has its characters. It's imporant to find out what you prefer.

I hope you enjoyed it and I will be happy to get your upvotes and comments.

And yeah! Don't forget to answer, what do you see in this picture...

Piece&Love

Sort:  

Nice work!

When I look close up, I see a figure walking with arms outstretched, and the small child crouched on the ground. When I see the whole composition, it seems like there is a birdlike shape watching the scene from the lower right corner.

Thank you for your interest! Yes, there were two human figures at the beginning and then turned to smth else.

great job. this is awesome. i like this

This kind of artwork is quite unusual to me, it is very unique and beautiful and how you have shown the steps is already a plus point! Amazing indeed, good job!

Thank you so much for your support!

I see a figure, masculine and monstrous judging from his toe nails walking towards a tensed, frightened child who's squatting besides the grasses in a bushy lonely path...... And there he is, beckoning on the little child while taking some steps closer...... However, there seems to be a bird in the lower part of the scene staring deep at the child and a frightening head with a big grin which adds to the child's misery.
I can't tell if I've interpreterd it correctly, but however that's what i see in the picture..... I wouldn't forget to mention, you've done a great job. Well done.

It's a very precise observation, you are totally right! Thank you!

I'm honoured.... Just followed you

At first I thought it was an owl. It wasn't until I saw the sketches that I saw the human figures

Could be :)))

This is super amazing, really incredible work! I love the process photos--but am honestly just really really in love with the final product.

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86