Finding Yourself In Art (How To Draw Yourself)

in #art8 years ago

You Don't have to be an artist to draw!

You can spend years and years to learn how to draw better but that is not the true path to find your style. Drawing is not about to be perfect or being better than most.

It is about getting your thoughts and personality to paper and that is easier than you may think.

I started drawing just a couple months ago and I did not spend more than a couple of minutes per day on practicing.

Recently I started a simple project which may not be finished yet but I wanted to show you the results.

Today I wanted to find myself in my art. I wanted to draw a figure which is me. Not a 100% artistic replica but has the personality traits and the same message as me.

At first I want to show you something:

Do you notice that the first girls face is round the second's is square and the third's is like a triangle?

Shapes have a message. 

Round means:

Gentle
Calm
Friendly
Wholesome
Generous
Friendly

Square means:

Stable
Trustworthy
Rational
Peaceful

Triangle means:

Dynamic
Tense
Powerful
Conflicting
Dangerous

Take a look at the picture above. Do you see these messages and stories unfolding by taking a look at the girls?

I wanted to incorporate some of the meaning when creating myself on the paper. By the way this is how I look like:  

This is how my first sketches went down to paper:

The main aspect was to give it a bit roundish look because I wanted to emphasize the lovable, childish aspect of my personality. Some say this is my secret weapon because other males don't take me seriously enough when competing. :)

Walking on the street with my wife we bought some snacks and the cartoon figures on the wrapping made my brain tick and realized that my drawings are much more "stirct" than they should be.

After incorporating this really fun style into my sketches this is how it looked:

Then I decided to "mature" the character a bit and wanted to practice it to get a feel of the character. 

Making its head and the body a bit thinner and trying to get to the end result.

Let me know if I inspired you!

If you enjoyed my writings follow me!

Sort:  

So inspiring! Thanks for sharing your story :)

Congratulations @asuran! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @asuran! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48