Princess Leia [watercolor]

in #art6 years ago

Trying to be creative with Leia; didn't turn out how I had it in my mind; but it was still a good time of learning and getting a better feel for the use of watercolors. The goal was the make her "hair" to be space.

img

This is actually the only process shot I have; I tend to get more distracted with watercolor since it is time sensitive!

IMG_20170209_162646649.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

But it did make her hair look like a galaxy far, far away, so I guess you achieved your goal! This one's something that would never get old. I like how you did the space thing with the stars. The colors blended well and it really gave a feeling of something cosmic. Man I wish Carrie Fisher had seen this. I bet that she'll be really flattered!

trust me, i wish that Carrie Fisher was still around to see it too!

Congratulations @artistchristian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Her eyes are staring right at you... great post, love you work.

Very good portrait. I'd love to attempt watercolor one day!

it is simultaneously fun and frustrating! but you should try it!

Great way to explain the watercolor process, frustratingly fun.

Nice job, her galaxy hair looks good

thanks! I always have a picture in my mind of how I want it to look and then watercolor is like, "No, we're gonna look this way!"

Really liking the way you used the cools on her face too, it sets off the galaxy in the hair effect very well. It adds a little bit of the ethereal to her facial expression. Excellent work! It seems like each work you do is better than the last.

thank you so much :) I try to get better with each work I do, but it certainly isn't a straight line upward lol definitely have my failure moments, ha

For just starting watercolor you work is top-notch. Especially how the shadowing of the face fades into the space and stars of her hair....wow!

thanks! I did a lot of practice with watercolor before I ever tried any actual art. I practicing a lot of my washes from light to dark, color to color, wet in wet, etc. So i feel that helped a lot, kind of like practicing scales in piano and then playing a piano piece and you notice your hands "magically" go to the right places.
But, I definitely still struggle with watercolor at times - my biggest struggle is still figuring out how much water is in my brush at any given time, most of the time my mistake is putting the brush to the paper and too much water is there and then things get out of control lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArtistChristian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79