ART: Drawing & Painting - The beginning of my creative journey!

in #art8 years ago (edited)





I thought I would start sharing the different passions I have - starting with drawing and painting!

Through the years, I have added more and more to the list of my creative adventures.  Drawing and painting was the creative expression that I began with.  Later my creativity transformed into many other things including:  graphic design, photography, writing, and interior design/decorating!

This painting (above) is in rough shape, but it was a piece from the beginning of my journey as an artist (painted in 2006).  Some of you may recognize its resemblance to the Salvador Dali painting " Geopoliticus Child Watching the Birth of the New Man."  This was a small portion of a project I did in high school.  We had to choose someone to do a report, and some sort of project on.  I chose Salvador Dali because I was intrigued by his style of art; it was uniquely surreal.  I painted this, and also tried painting a version of Salvador's " The Persistence of Memory" painting for my English project.  It was very fun to play with the unique variety of colors and concepts of the work.  It got me started on creating my own style of abstract art. (The painting above is not my original concept, it is my attempt to study/replicate a famous painting by Salvador Dali for a school project)


As you can tell, I was intrigued by the use of clocks and numbers.  I slowly formed my own style.


I also loved using nature as the subject matter of my art, so I began to mix nature into my abstract art.




Some of my artwork was simply sketches and doodles that slowly transformed into a final project.  This peaked my interest to start creating adult coloring books (will have another post on that in the future).


About a year ago I wrote a Halloween children's story/poem book.  I decided to do my own illustrations.  I knew I wanted watercolor illustrations, but had not experimented with watercolor since 2007.  After a little research online of painting techniques, and one or two practice drawings, I spent a week creating all 14 illustrations.  



(below) I also decided to just make some art for fun!

Drawing and painting are just a small portion of my creative passions.  I plan to share more with you in future posts.  Thanks for reading :)


Sort:  

These are great! I love that witch ;) Thanks for sharing!

I featured @timcliff in a recent feature on my blog, and he referred me to you. I love the artwork and the description of the process. In many ways, I think when I look at a finished piece, I often wonder how the artist came up with the concept. Great post I have upvoted and featured on my blog.

Very cool! Thanks for featuring my post, I really appreciate it! And thank you @timcliff for sharing my post with others :)

Me gusta lo que has publicado gracias por compartir. si deseas podes visitar mi blogg, votar, seguir o compartir con tus amigos

great story @artist1989, wonderful pictures, skill is growing with time, the main thing is to train your skills every day)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43