Doodling in the plane +STEPS

in #art6 years ago

cover.jpg

Greetings! I was busy with ordeals of non-art life in recent weeks but it seems I am slowly going back to my vocation. Symbolically my first drawing for a while was done on board of a plane carrying me away to my new home. Hope I will settle well and soon will be posting more stuff here.

I was listening to Kendrik Lamar's "DAMN." and decided to doodle his portrait. Despite the lack of finesse in this sketch I liked it, it felt so good to draw again! Anyways, here is some steps of my process, sorry for the poor lighting conditions

step1.jpg

Starting from the eye, very simple block-in

step2.jpg

Continue to block-in the face, trying to solve likeness from here

step3.jpg

Introducing second color, building the form with values and temperature shifts

step4.jpg

On this stage the light from the window started to dim and I've decided to continue faster hence I didn't make photos until finish

step5.jpg

Hope you dig it!!

Sort:  

Well, I wouldn't call this just a doodle.. I mean it's just a good portrait in my opinion.. I never knew that this could be achieved using this technique and ballpoint .. Super nice, curious to see more if you call this a doodle :)

Thank you! For me "doodling" is merely state of mind, it's when I just listen to the music or thinking of something. Sometimes these small quick studies look freshly and nice, sometimes they just waste of paper an time but process itself is worth the ink spent. Stay tuned for more ballpoint fun :)

Amazing artwork friend!

Thank you! Much appreciated :)

Doodle? Very fine. Thanks for showing the stages. You must have a pretty good mental picture before you make the first lines. Or does the drawing bring it forth? Or is the development a back and forth between the newly drawn and the original intention?
Sorry for the vague questions. I'm just beginning a portrait for the first time. I'm clear on the feeling I want. I have a photo to remind me of major features, but I'm not sure how to start. Best to just dive in, I guess. I'll try your practice of beginning with the eyes.
Oh, you might like a story I just posted about a painter.

Thank you! The first lines and marks are crucial, since pen doesn't allow me to erase I force myself to make all the calculations mentally beforehand (and before my hand actually starts to draw, lol :) It's wise to try all methods seem promising - from center outwards, from general to specific, academic, Riley et cetera. Happy drawing!

I really like the lines, i might use similar style one of my drawings too. I didn't like the red color though. I too like to draw when I travel, not with plane but mostly trains. It's refreshing for the mind and good for the soul.

Thats sick! no clue who the guy is but that is awesome art!

If you had shown me the drawing when you had only drawn the eye, I would never believe it was Kendrick Lamar 😅 Is awesome! Isn't only a "doodle".

Each line, each detail and the effects are amazing! Your hands have magic.

Thanks, very kind of you :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Cool! Thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arthurgain from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Really nice, as always, @arthurgain :D you're really always amazing with these ballpoints portraits * ___ *

Congratulations @arthurgain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49