You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Art is not about selling, but about having something to say that´s worth telling"

in #art7 years ago

I agree and it warms my heart know that there are artists out there who manage to keep their integrity in themselves and thus in their work. For such artists I have the greatest respect for and admire.
I have nothing against artists selling their work. Indeed I want artists to make a decent living for their tremendous effort and talent. This is only right. But the money should be a side benefit of their joy not the basis for it.
Those who can balance this are few but as you say it can be done.
It is the game that the super rich and the leeching gallery art dealers that I have a beef about lol!
I too have no problem selling my work but I only sell to those who genuinely love and respect my work. They must have a glint in their eye lol, or they never get their hands on it.
I once turned down $30.000 dollars for one of my paintings from an art dealer from New York who was an avid Picasso collector. He was furious that I said no. He was just a horrible materialistic person and there was not way I was going to let him have it.
Thanks for responding and good to hear you are a genuine creative how has kept their soul. Good luck to you and dont change. Art needs artists like yourself who keep to the true path. Cheers!

Sort:  

At 66 and a professional for 45 years, I doubt I'll change now! 😉

Good art is appreciated by a few and sometimes even purchased!

One way an artist can sell - and has worked for me several times - is to have an art party where the artist shows about 20 of his works on an easel one at a time (under good lighting), relates the story behind each piece, what he was trying to say, or whatever else might be interesting. This is best done in someone's home, preferably one of the artist's collectors who has many contacts who they invited to attend. The conditions have to be right, but it can really be a success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00