ART TUTORIAL: Portrait with the baby in OIL colors

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My commission work for a young British family. The format is 30x40 cm (12x16 inches). This work took 11 hours and 30 minutes to accomplish, 5 sessions of 2-3 hours (that's why the video has different lighting). I changed the background and added some makeup to the mother's portrait.


You can order a portrait (from 60$ +shipping 20$), 14-30 days with shipping. I accept orders from September 18. Can be in SBD or STEEM.

1) Line sketch


This work was made on toned (burned umber) canvas. It's impossible to make a drawing on it with a regular pencil, so I used a chalk one. Try to be very clean and precise or even make a preparatory drawing and copy it on a canvas.

2) First strokes and faces modeling


I was working in a la prima technique with one layer (2 in some detailed parts). The main points of interest in every portrait are human faces, that's why I started with them. Mother's face was made approximately with basic forms of wide strokes.

3) Tonal relations and clothes


To form the whole picture I was working in wide range of strokes different in size and color. All my strokes are pasty and opaque. I used bristle and synthetic brushes to achieve such results in texture.

4) Softening edges and hair modeling


At this stage, I covered all main parts of a painting and it provides the ability to see all sharp edges of strokes. Some monotonous shadows and contours can make our painting too flat, so we need to mitigate them.

5) The background and details


Some bright green background was added to give a cheerful mood. I wanted to make some associations with a summer, green trees, a park, etc. (photo reference background was just gray). Also, I started to add some details in hair, clothes, and faces.

6) Finishing touches


Then I fixed some problems with hands, add more complexity in mother's face and glasses. At this stage is important to set accents with highlights and some bright strokes.

Video:

Sort:  

Great work. Love it.

Thank you alot for using the tag. I am honor. An interface in works too.

Another support tag that this will fit in is #steemiteducation. @steemiteducation see this! Stay awesome!

What an awesome #steemgig! Physical products like this are what is going to make STEEM valuable to the public at large, plus, this is a great way for someone to get something for their STEEM that they can hold in their hands, and remember for years to come!

If you link this post over here, It could help you get some more work!

Thank you! I'll try. I have also online 1-to-1 art lessons :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31