Leather is my Art Medium. Geometric Tooling. An Armadilloman Photo Blog

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Geometric patterns have always been popular in traditional leather tooling.  I bring my own twist to this decorative art, creating more complex patterns that blanket a piece of leather, creating rhythm that "buzzes your eyes" and at the same time soothes with its color gradation.

At least thats what I keep telling myself.

Here is another Leather Art Photo Blog where I show you "how I did that."  This one does not need a lot of explanation as I am going to let you look over my shoulder while I tool and finish a wallet with one of my original geometric designs.


First step is laying out the guidlines for the pattern.

First lines of tooling are stamped right down the center of the billfold back.

Additional guidelines are added and the center section tooling finished.

The same pattern is repeated on the top and bottom.

Once the pattern is completed the third time, a line of diamond shapes are stamped on the line between each row to tie it all together.

The finish under color is put on drawing it from the dark upper and lower edges to the light center.  

Hi-light stain is applied to give the color an over all brown tint.

The stain is wiped off of the high ridges of the tooling marks, leaving the depressions filled with dark color.

Punch the lacing holes in both the billfold back and interior.

And finally, lace it all up using calf skin lacing and a double loop braiding stitch.

 

Apply a clear acrylic finish and the project is completed.


"I have read, edited, and approved Armadilloman's post" -- Wanda Petronski



As always, feel free to ask me any questions about, life, leather work and the universe.  Upvote, follow and re-steem if you want to see more content like this.

WANT MORE VOTES AND FOLLOWS?  Sign up for these free applications and get GUARANTEED upvotes and followers!  

SteemFollower https://steemfollower.com/?r=14068
SteemEngine  https://steemengine.net/join?r=2278


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Hi, I'm @creationofcare and I just posted a directory of leathercrafters featuring YOU here:

https://steemit.com/leatherguild/@creationofcare/leather-guild-of-steemit

Come on over to see the list of fellow leather guild artists, and let's support one another. #leatherguild

Well thank you @creationofcare. I will check it out.

Yay, you do very nice work and seem to be rising fast here on Steemit! Congratulations and I hope the #leatherguild expands and uplifts us all

Another great piece of work that I am sure the people over at @steemmakers will be very keen to know about :)

I am still waiting for the Wallet to arrive in the post, but now I am already thinking about purchasing other items that you might have on offer!

Well, @plushzilla, here is an exclusive look at what I have been messing around with now.... The Steemit belt.
0305182241.jpg

When you are finished with all the leather projects it will be interesting to see if you can dress someone from head to toe with Steemit branded items :D There's a hat, eye-patch, belt, wallet and who knows what else!

indeed it does :)

Congratulations - You were selected to receive a 100% up-vote from @fivefreeupvotes. Enter once a day
UP-VOTE WINNER.jpg

Really interesting how a boring piece of leather gets a beautiful art. How Much time did you spend on this one ?

I have done this one so many times that I can knock the tooling out in less then an hour. The whole wallet, start to finish (with a pre-made interior in and afternoon. If I hand make an interior its 8 hours.

ooo i like this! incidentally, my homemade wallet is on its last legs. Are you selling these ones at all? could do with a new one if the price is right.

Rob we can do a trade out sometime.

wonderful precision!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You just received a 44.44% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @armadilloman!
WaveSmall.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12