Love Them or Hate Them, Final Round Entry

in #art7 years ago

In the last round post of erodedthoughts competition it was requested to give an image of an item which terrorizes us and write a story why it terrorizes us.

As you will see soon, it is not an item, but it terrorizes and terrifies me. It's absolutely scary.

ero3.png

It's blood. As odd as it is, as I've been painting with blood. However I will tell you a story why it's terrifying to me.

Small amounts of bloods are ok with me. I can handle it, even though I had disliked it as a child. I've had type 1 diabetes for years and I've needed small amounts of blood for my blood glucose meter so I have grown used to it.

However larger amounts of blood.. different kinds of wounds.. they are terrifying. When I'm even watching a movie in which someone bleeds quickly I can feel strong anxiety. The loss of blood and the mad amounts of blood mean only one thing to me: death.

I fear getting stabbed more than getting shot and I feel I would rather get blown away by a bomb than get cut with a knife. It would be faster and there would be no need to fear the terror.

Bleeding is not in my control. Fear of bleeding might show off my fear of death, but bleeding to death.. it would shock me. Be it horrifying because I would fear bleeding quickly to death and not being able to do anything about it or bleeding slowly to death and feeling all the pain and being helpless.

Seeing large amounts of blood tells me only how helpless I am. How I can die so easily, how fragile we humans are.

Maybe this is why I'm using blood in the few pieces of artwork I have. Blood is fear to me, but without it we are nothing. Some say dying is the scariest part of life, but I say it's bleeding.

Bleeding while dying.

eroded3.png
The original image before adjusting the image.

Sort:  

I bleed every month and take it like a champ :D

Well you bleed only a little! I bleed small amounts of blood more often than you :(

At least it's not a totally irrational fear: many people have it to some degree.

Nor is it likely to happen, like for instance being in enclosed spaces would be a common situation the claustrophobic person would have to work around.

So, I guess, of all fears to have, this is a rather good one!

Though it does make movies hard to watch!

Good point. This is also why I prefer comedies in movies :)

You should be treated with "Flooding method". In this method, you have to stay in a room with visible blood every where. Flooding

Haha, this is a terrible idea but a funny idea. Blood room sounds like something which doesn't help :D

You will cope with it gradually :) Start slowly. At first chicken blood...........at last human blood :)

I love you, check this out.

Eww no no no no!

I'm not going to watch that. I had a good idea what is coming and skipped somewhere in the middle to see.. aaaand not going to watch that any more. Thank you.

I just saved you from wasting 1.5 hours by sharing the best 2 minutes of the whole movie

Well thank you for being helpful :)

Always.......lol

There is a lot of dying up in here. I can see that blood is exposed weakness, helpless, and not the nicest thought to be having- especially when others are injured. For me, blood reminds me that I was alive in the first place.

A good point of view. But I'm still seeing the "I was alive" point in this :D

Indeed! I liked that you embrace your condition c: I'm squemish towards blood. Seeing you not let your circumstances hold you back is empowering. No sugar tho :'c

Mm, I skipped all the rest and went for that sugar. I do like sugar.

You are a hardcore snack fiend @apsu, not gonna let a little diabetes stop you from enjoying life lmao

Well they say we shouldn't let anything stop doing what we love :)

You right.

Also sadistic apparently c;

Indeed! I liked that you embrace your condition c: I'm squemish towards blood. Seeing you not let your circumstances hold you back is empowering. No sugar tho :'c

A good point of view. But I'm still seeing the "I was alive" point in this :D

A few years ago I was a blood donor. I also didn't like to see my blood flow in a bag😂

Well it would freak me out if someone would want to watch the blood flow in the bag :)

I appreciate you being a blood donor.

There is a lot of dying up in here. I can see that blood is exposed weakness, helpless, and not the nicest thought to be having- especially when others are injured. For me, blood reminds me that I was alive in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14