Adding Binding to Gwen's Quilt - It Is Finished!!

in #art6 years ago

I am so happy to let you all know that Gwen's quilt is finished!! Yea! Yippee!! I was able to finish the binding this last week (not even on Sunday evening). Here are the steps I took to make the binding. It is such a pretty quilt!!

IMG_0934.JPG

I forgot to include the first step which is to cut all the batting and extra fabric off the edges. This is called squaring the quilt. I then needed to cut the strips of fabric to the right length. I made them 2.5 inches wide and cut 6 of them. I use my rotary cutter and handy cutting tool and it's pretty quick! I then sew all of the strips together to make one long strip. The strips line up at a 90 degree angle and are sewn diagonally from corner to corner. The extra fabric on the corners is then trimmed off.

IMG_0899.JPG . IMG_0900.JPG . IMG_0904.JPG

Then I do the measuring to make sure that the binding will fit around the quilt. I probably should have done the measuring before cutting, but I figured I could just wing it. I only cut one extra strip, but that's okay! Fold the binding in half and then iron it. This is the first time I have heated up my iron in years. I hate ironing.

IMG_0905.JPG . IMG_0908.JPG

I start sewing the binding on a few inches away from the end of the binding fabric. That makes it so I can join the pieces together easily at the end of sewing. On the corners, I sew off of the side and start back up again. I highly recommend finding a good YouTube video to watch to learn to do binding if you're needing to know how, since I'm just highlighting the steps.

IMG_0910.JPG . IMG_0911.JPG

I laid down the quilt to make take a picture of the binding when it was all sewn on the back and, of course, Mirakuru thought it was her new nap mat. She curled up and then tried to get us when we were trying to make her get off! Silly thing. It is starting to look complete! One last step...sew it onto the front! When you do machine sewing for binding, you sew it onto the back first and then onto the front. If you sew it by hand (which takes forever), you machine sew it onto the front first and then hand sew it on to the back. I am happy to have learned to do it with a machine after having binding half on some of my earlier quilts for years.

IMG_0920.JPG . IMG_0921.JPG

The final product is finished and I couldn't be happier! I know that Gwen will love it. The quilt measures about 48 inches by 48 inches. I can't wait to see pictures of Gwen when she is using it!

IMG_0934.JPG
The front of Gwen's quilt

IMG_0935.JPG
The back of Gwen's quilt



The power cord to my normal computer died and my parents are bringing me a new one when they come visit us next month. Until then, I'm using a super slow, older computer. I'm not sure how these pictures look because on this screen they look pretty blurry and dull. I hope to get back to regular blogging in mid-June.

I also need your advice. I haven't told my parents or anyone (other than you guys) that I'm even working on a quilt. This will be a total surprise to Gwen's parents (my brother) and even my parents. So...how do you think I should send it? Should I show it to my mom and have her wrap it up or should I wrap it up and have it be a big surprise for everyone? I can't decide!!

#needleworkmonday created by @crosheille

Sort:  

I vote you show it to your mom and let her wrap it.

  1. it will make her feel special
  2. it will save you the trouble of wrapping the thing
  3. I always love showing off my work to at least someone -- and you'll miss that if you just send it off "blind"
  4. you'll have this little conspiracy / secrecy thing going -- I love that, too

Get your computer fixed. You are way too important to be out of commission. (Scared myself practically witless with the computer problems I had the other day. Ordered back-ups of everything I found was a problem as soon as I got things fixed again.)

The-STEEM-Engine

Looky there! I got to upvote a comment but I can't upvote posts!!

Raucous cheering and applause all around.

WOW!!! It turned out beautifully and your pics are good! I think you should keep this treasure as a total surprise.

Thank you!!! :) I love it too. My mom keeps asking my kids if I am sewing. Ha. ;) Thankfully I am not when she asks so they tell her no. So she really doesn't have any clue. I would just have to pack it up small enough that it wouldn't look like a bulky quilt and then total shock when it's opened! Put some beans in there to jingle around. ;)

LOL!! I love it. I'll bet you could get very creative with the packaging. Can't wait to hear how it goes over.

YAY!!! Congratulations!! It turned out soooo Beautiful!!! I too think it should be a total surprise for everyone!!! Your pictures look just fine! Thanks so much for sharing the last steps with us, you did Wonderfully and I know Gwen will adore her quilt!!! 💓

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #151 (5/31/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Oh well done @apanamamama, this looks beautiful! I would not be able to wait & would show my mom if I ever made such a work of art...but would be nice to surprise them all!

Your photos are nice and clear! I'm so happy for you that you completed it! It's fantastic! I'm kind of torn about who gets to see it first...but if you want it to be a total surprise to your brother and his wife, I vote for you wrapping it up and they all get to see it when your parents deliver it back to the States.

:) I still haven't decided how I'm going to deliver it..... :)

Gwen will love the quilt. The design is great. My little ladies would love all of the bright colors.

I am sure that Mirakuru will be sad to see it go. I would show your mom and then wrap it up. That way you and your mom can enjoy the fruits of your labor together.

Thanks! I'm super excited to give it to her. I know Kuru will be missing it. ;)

Yay @apanamamama! Congratulations! The quilt looks amazing and am sure Gwen would love it! I know I would :) I think you should wrap it up and surprise everyone!

Thanks for the vote. :) I can't wait to give it to her!

It looks so beautiful and I would keep it as a surprise to everyone @apanamamama 🌺

Thanks! :) It's getting to be one of my favorite quilts I've made!

OMG sooo adorbs!! do you sell quilts? i'd love one of yours and also to help support a fellow steemian!! woot

Thanks!! I have never sold a quilt. I've donated one to be auctioned and I've given them away to friends and family. That is really nice to want to buy one!! I don't sell them though... @mtnmeadowmomma might. :)

@apanamamama no worries! it's okay i was offering to support your work. i'm getting involved with more and more groups that are sharing their talents and helping each other. steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30