Sort:  

Really made me think. Particularly since your post makes me aware, that people don't sing anymore... at least where I live (Southern Germany)

Its really strange.. We are surrounded by music, like non stop, but who sings? Just for the joy of it? My parents did, that whole generation, but now its almost like something embarrassing to do... therefore, first of all, big compliments to you!

I'm not a teacher (only artist), but I work with a small group of children in a special school. Teaching them art, I want to give them a feeling of self worth and make them understand that they too are special... I'm learning too from them and it is quite an experience. I like this concept you mention to use the nervous energy and will try to incorporate that too. Thanks for sharing :-)

Good for you. My Mother always told me nobody in our family could sing and so to not even try. It's amazing how these negative messages pass down from generation to generation. Through singing in capoeira I realised that I really enjoyed singing and I didn't care if I wasn't the best. And actually I found that some song types really suit my voice and people will remark to me that I have a great voice (I know fine well that other song types really don't suit it! But I save those ones for when there's no-one around!). I even ended up singing a song (Edith Piaf Je ne regrette rien) at my sisters wedding. It's such a therapeutic and fun activity to share. Well done :)

I love your singing, how i wish i could sing like you do. Music makes my nerves wake up. I play drums, with a band and whenever i listen to music, my heart beat follows.

"This was a good reminder that performance, for me, isn't about showing what we think is "right" or "pretty", but rather expressing what is our truth in that moment."

Thank you!

I can go with that! Though it is one of the toughest trainings to get rid of the thought to make it pretty and let the real you come out.

I made audio recordings within a longer distance of time. At first I stuttered a lot and the sentences were full of "Uh's" and "uhm". Listening to myself, I noticed the insecurity behind it and thought: "You don't even believe yourself."

I also asked a good friend for her opinion and she said that it distracts from what I'm really trying to say. Not only does loud speaking or singing require admitting an authentic feeling, it is also a lot of work and practice. It takes a long time before the habit of serving the audience with what you think it will touch is established. You also have to meet the "right" people who like whatever you like.

I've often thought it's no good what I do. My friends and family have completely different interests. So I had assumed I wasn't good enough. I have learned in the meantime that the direct social environment for this is not to be condemned. They simply have different priorities. But the heart of an artist can be very upset. At a stage when I'm not yet so good, I need people who constructively correct, guide and inspire me. I want to learn from the masters. I have to find them first, of course.

Good luck on your way and stay tuned!

P.S. Sorry, I weakened my VP so much, it is unfortunately nothing worth...

Please follow me

Wonderful song and nicely sung! I envy you your empowerment group. How fun!

This is soooo brave (in my view) Singing alone, without music or other singers... wow. I really like it. A am a trained dancer and have nor problem dancing or playing or speaking in front of a bif audiance (yes I am a little nervous, but its more a good energetic exitement) but singing or plying music in front of an audiance - ohhhh no.. i think i have to melt or dy of shame. I am not absolutel sure, why I perceive making music in front of other as so tough? But I really like your story of reclaiming your voice. I am ages behind and already happy/satisfied if I dare to sing with outhers in a chorus or when I am alone with my guitar. Singing (and for me also playing an insturment) is tight so strongly with deepest emotions... I cannot distance myself from it as I am able to do in other art forms like dance or painting.
Thank you for sharing your journey

welcome Myanmar

It's great to see that group therapy is so useful to you. You are beautiful and your song is wonderful!

absolutely awesome it was to see great one :)

Hello dear
How are you
I'm so proud feel for connecting with you
I'm already following your profile so please follow back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58