How I Saved My Colleague's Freelance Illustration

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Everybody !

Today I'm gonna show you how I saved one of my colleague's illustrations that he struggle to do, but couldn't achieve. So he asked me for a little help.

And this is the result...!

(All the images are my own creation and so I own the rights of them)

It's important to mention that this actually happened few months ago.

My colleague actually got waaaay better since then and probably now he would solve it like a piece of cake (I never understood this metaphor).

But back then, he had a blockout.

He took this job from a company which name I can't say and for a project hat I can't talk too much neither. I will just say that it was for a movie.

This was until where he got it and he couldn't go further.

Illustration---Don't-be-afraid-to-love-(1).jpg

But luckily enough, we just started talking each other back then through Facebook (yes, we haven't met IRL yet with my buddy) and he could ask me for a hand. I was looking for some work back then when I just got started into the freelance world, so everything came right on time.

At the beginning I wanted to help him to achieve the goal by himself. But then the block out came and it was really hard for him to go any further. So I proposed to him to take it from that point, and finish it.

It was a lot of fun I must say, since the base was pretty solid and the colors were suggested. I modified a little bit the mood and atmosphere but not the palette itself. He did a great job with that.

Illustration---Don't_be_afraid_to_love_simplified_layers.jpg

Let's start with the first problem... Composition

Even tho' the idea was well presented, there was not enough elements for properly express the focal point. Nor enough contrast to show them off just rightly.

So the first step was to fix that little issue: elements of composition. I added many more assets in direction straight to the focal point to add more interest to it and mark it as the main point of interest in the whole scene. Not to say that all these elements would also greatly enrich the scene and the storytelling behind it.

Also the horizontal lines behind the vertical characters help to pop them up onto the scene. An element that is subtly presented in the whole scene for pumping assets up (characters included) is the warmth.

What do I mean by warmth?...

...Warm colors of course. Such as the red motorbike, the super warm orange optical effect as transition between the shadow and light on the cargo of the truck, and mainly onto the skin tones of the characters' faces.

Illustration---Don't_be_afraid_to_love_simplified_layers.gif

Speaking about the characters...

I used here a dramatic light warm on their faces to pop up them even more, leaving the rest of their bodies in cold virtual-shadows so that would generate the contrast that we are looking for.

Theres also one more thing: if you see the background behind the characters, while the characters go from warm light to cold shadow (from top to bottom) the background goes from cold shadow to warm light in the same order. This is another element of composition that makes a big magic when it comes to contrast.

Let's leave the theory here and not make it heavier than it should ;)

Now you know why and how important is to have friends and colleagues that may and can give you a hand when needed. Indeed I had my help back in time thanks to friends as well =)



Have you heard about the SmokeNetwork?. Well you should check it out! SmokeNetwork is the first cannabis community combining the blockchain technology with social network. We plan to decentralize the green miracle! Decentralize everything!!

An art competition is coming by! Show us your talent, show us what you got =)

Thanks for reading and see you soon!

Bye!

Sort:  

Beautiful work, can you let me know where I can learn Adobe illustrator and Photoshop? Other than the Youtube stuff. I really want to be a designer, not for the bucks, just for my soul!

Catch me on discord =)

wow great finished or well refinished pictures

You really know how to make things pop in the art.

Thanks, I'm starting to draw and this will be very helpful

Did you also make the characters slightly bigger? I often have trouble with drawing more than one person with the background, but this is really helpful! I'll try to implement your tips in the next illustration. Thank you :)

Actually I do! There is one post where I uploaded a character design (Hagrid from Harry Potter's universe) where I place many different creatures over the main character.

If you have any doubt or question please let me know.

Really good job thnx for this ,follow, upvote ,resteem

great work.....
upvoted

great work. you are talented

you did a great job with the illustrations ,Spot on Doc!!
Do you want to hear my story about how I saved my Pilot friend from a fatal incident?

That's really nice. What are you using for the drawing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44