"Midnight Voodoo Bowling Team" | (Win 5 SBD)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Death Mask Life 04.jpg




"Midnight Voodoo Bowling Team"

Pencil and gel-pens on black paper.

6" x 12"



Contest: give this drawing a title


I can name anything, but when it to my own work, it's a constant debate... So I need your creativity!
In the comments below, tell me how would you name this drawing, and give me a short explanation why you think that your title is right for this image (one paragraph min.)

  • Dig deep, be as original and as daring as you can or wish to be, and you will get the chance to win 5 SBD.

  • The winner will be announced in 3 days,

  • I will personally choose the best entry, and will add it to the title in this post. But your comments on the entries can definitely help me choose.

  • Upvoting or resteeming is not mandatory to enter this contest, but your support will allow me to post more contests like this, and more intricate ones in the future.

  • The previous contest was won by @mininthecity with her entry "Shell". If you wish to check it out, go here.

Examples of past entries:

I wont wish you luck because it is entirely in my hands ;)... but I will say "show me what you got, and thank you for your participation!"

:}



Anna-Polonsky-Logo steem.jpgA N K A P O L O

Helpienaut post banner 02-01a.png

^^ http://steemit.com/@helpie ^^

^^ http://steemit.com/@knot ^^

Sort:  

Strange Woman

  1. My son, attend unto my wisdom, and bow thine ear to my understanding:

  2. That thou mayest regard discretion, and that thy lips may keep knowledge.

  3. For the lips of a strange woman drop as an honeycomb, and her mouth is smoother than oil:

  4. But her end is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a two-edged sword.

  5. Her feet go down to death; her steps take hold on hell.

  6. Lest thou shouldest ponder the path of life, her ways are moveable, that thou canst not know them.

  7. Hear me now therefore, O ye children, and depart not from the words of my mouth.

  8. Remove thy way far from her, and come not nigh the door of her house:

  9. Lest thou give thine honour unto others, and thy years unto the cruel:

  10. Lest strangers be filled with thy wealth; and thy labours be in the house of a stranger;

  11. And thou mourn at the last, when thy flesh and thy body are consumed

Those verses are gotten from Proverbs chapter 5 the Holy Bible and this image depicts the resemblance of the strange woman luring young men to her abode, with her seductive charisma, only to end up snatching their soul(illustrated with the skull she's holding). I call her the strange woman.

I love the art, entwined in precision yet heavy in depth.

Thanks for the contest

Cheers

Interesting, I never imagined that my image would arouse biblical allegory... Perhaps the verses refer to Lilith?. Entry accepted! Thank you very much!

Perhaps...

Thank you too

"Moonalice"
Her curve shows kind but it is evil. You don't know whether those are hands of a healer or a slayer. A tantalizing tribe girl.

Yes, the hands gesture in a slightly threatening manner, i'm glad you noticed! and thank you for your entry!

"The Vengeful Pariah"

It was the first thought that came to my mind after seeing the skull in her right hand, the long fingernails and hair obscuring her face. The story behind the mysterious woman in this drawing is one marred with complexity, despair and resilience.

She was raised to be the kind of woman that everyone else in her village expects her to be. She comes from a place and time when women are expected to do what is expected of them and nothing more.

She dares to be different and what she wants to be, which in turn results in her village turning on her. Eventually, it leads to her family being killed and she escapes unharmed.

While she learns to provide for herself, she begins down her path of vengeance, justice for her family who were killed when all they did was raise her and love her as best as they knew.

The skull in her hand is symbolic and she carries it with her wherever she goes, it is one of many from the future victims she will claim in her attempt to redefine the village and save other women from the same fate she has experienced.

She has become a legend in her village, people are calling her The Vengeful Pariah.

Epic! I mean it! You just added several more layers and dimensions to the character. Thank you so much!
Entry accepted!

"Shamaness"

I saw here a focused woman of exceptional beauty who is preparing for some kind of ritual. She spreads magical energy around herself, sinking herself into a trance. Perhaps she is wandering in the afterlife world and communicating with ancestors spirits with the help of the skull which she holds in her hand?

Thank you @ankapolo you've made my day! 😍😍😍

Oh, a great entry and also a great insight! thank you!

"NEW BEGINNINGS"

Mother Moon in the sky is just past New, a time of new beginnings. She, the Goddess Kali, is mirroring the curve of that Moon with the curve of Her own body. In one hand, She holds a skull, a symbol of a past life. With the other, She prepares to brush the hair from Her eyes, as a symbolic opening to a new life. For, in every instance of destruction, new Life arises from the ashes, as the color of Her hair mirrors the color of the Phoenix, so rising from ashes. Star Stuff dances around Her in Ecstasy. All is as it should be.

This is a magnificent piece! Many kudos for your brilliant work!
Upvoted & Resteemed!

"Midnight Voodoo Bowling Team"

I think my title is fairly self-explanatory, but just in case you need more... This mysterious woman, in the moonlight looks like she is carefully walking towards her turn to roll that skull. She is giving her turn some serious contemplation, too - very serious.

This is a beautiful drawing. Congrats!

Whoa! I was going to try to come up with something but this answer is too perfect. Nothing I could think up would top "Midnight Voodoo Bowling Team." It's all I can see now! 😀 Brilliant!!! And I LOVE the art! Holy damn, woman. You're amazing!

LOL I do crack up every time I read it, even though, technically, this is not how one holds a bowling ball... but hey, its a bowling skull so the rules may be different :D Still I have no doubt that with your lyrical talent you can make a great entry.
And thank you so much for being the angel that blessed me into damnation! ❤️

Burst out laughing! You are the proof to my theory - that the quality of humor in comments is proportional to their reputation score :)
Thank you! Entry accepted.

Oh, yay!! Awesome. Thanks!!

That's so sweet of you, thank you for your kind words.

You deserve even more my friend

First of all that beautiful illustration and very striking, I congratulate you friend. The name chosen for this work of art is:
Beautiful death in paradise

I send you a big hug from Venezuela

Thank you very much @musicayfarandula! 🤗
There are some paradise-like places in your country, I hope to see them one day.
you entry is accepted :)

"Hela"
Hela is a creature born in Jotunheim. She is the daughter of Loki with the giant Angrbooa. Hela appointed Odin as the Goddess of Death and was in charge of the nature of the dead in Hel and Nifheim. Despite his power, Hela often tried to extend his power by attacking Valhalla. It caused him to often confront Odin and Thor.

Nice! I love Nordic mythology! thank you, great entry!

Waxing Moon Goddess

love Waxing Moon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71