"give this drawing a title" Contest Winner/s announced!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Greetings all!



Three days ago I announced a contest to come up with a title for a drawing of mine. My secret goal behind this contest was to start an engaging conversation. Instead of simply commenting on the art (with the familiar comments that artists usually get on their work), you looked inward and found something deep and insightful to share and discuss... and I dare say, that my plan succeeded :)

This contest was both fun and challenging, since there were some really compelling entries and I struggled to pick one.

But we do have a winner after all!

Death Mask Life 04a.jpg


The winner of this contest is:

@pyrowngs

"Midnight Voodoo Bowling Team"

I think my title is fairly self-explanatory, but just in case you need more... This mysterious woman, in the moonlight looks like she is carefully walking towards her turn to roll that skull. She is giving her turn some serious contemplation, too - very serious.


My thoughts:

I'm a sucker for sarcasm and this entry just made me laugh every time I read it. Though it might not be ideal for the mood of the drawing I just couldn't help how different this entry was from the rest. Also yes, "Voodoo" was definitely on my mind when I was drawing this, so I also was convinced that this was the right pick for the title!

So @pyrowngs, congratulations you are the winner, "Midnight Voodoo Bowling Team" is now in the official title of my original post, and you will receive 5 SBD (the prize will be transferred after the contest expires - in 3 days)!


but wait there is more!


There were two more entries that I also felt deserved a winning spot. So I decided to give extra 1 SDB to each of the following contestants (the prize will be transferred after the contest expires - in 3 days):

@adazone

"Shamaness"

I saw here a focused woman of exceptional beauty who is preparing for some kind of ritual. She spreads magical energy around herself, sinking herself into a trance. Perhaps she is wandering in the afterlife world and communicating with ancestors spirits with the help of the skull which she holds in her hand?

--------------------&----------------------

@izzynaveda

"Native Venus"

I think that is perfect because it has the curves and sensuality of the Venus, also the roman mythology represents the beauty, love and passion with the goddes Venus. And the native because looking at her pose, her jewelry, the details in her long natural hair and the ink in her leg reminds me a little to Pocahontas, how she related to the wind and the nature.


To everyone who didn't win


I want to say thank you for participating in this contest, I really enjoyed your submissions. Some of you had great titles but little descriptions, and some had amazing descriptions but the titles might have been a not as enticing. However, I've done my best to express appreciation for your engagement, and hope that you will try again in the future.


Since this format worked out so well, I will be sure to post more contests like this in the future, so stay tuned :)

And thank you all!

Anna-Polonsky-Logo steem.jpg
A N K A P O L O

Sort:  

Thank you so much for choosing my title! This was fun. Your drawing is completely amazing & inspiring!

thank you @pyrowngs, stay tuned for the next one.

Hey, sorry for the delay, I'm just waiting for more SBDs to come in.

Thank you for this award @ankapolo 😊
It was a very imaginative experience!

cool! i'm glad that you found it engaging!
hope to see you next time too.

Amazing @art,i like it,visit my account,i like paint.

hey man, who's @art? sounds like an interesting account.

I mean amazing art @ankapolo, sorry my for mistake @ankapolo.

hehe, i was messing with you too, i know what you meant

Thank you a lot! I'm glad you liked it :)

I'm looking forward to keep an eye on your posts and comment more what I think and love about your art!

thank you @izzynaveda, definitely, artists love hearing how one interprets their work. that's better than any compliment! hope to see you again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67508.70
ETH 3753.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73