The Immortal Quest - Surreal, Metaphorical, Large

in #art7 years ago

Immortal Quest

Completed in May 2013, this was one of the most intense journeys towards a painting. For weeks, the night never lasted more than 3 hours, and yet I was never once tired during this period.

Photo: Me, in front of the Immortal Quest. Vienna, 2013.


Much later, I saw a text by C.S. Lewis, which reminded me of this painting. 

"To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart  will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping  it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it  carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all  entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your  selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it  will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable,  impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable."  


Sort:  

Grand work, has a vatican saint feel to it, enjoyed the viewing of this image
thank you.
question ? in the bouquet why no rose?

Thank you @crom131, that's a good question, and one I haven't been asked yet, I think.

Actually, I am about to make a new post, inspired by this question, but the simplest answer would be...
I am not a big fan of roses, with some exceptions (see my new post for specifics).
Those, to me, special roses, I wouldn't mix with other flowers.

That makes clear sense, ..special roses.. or one can say she is the rose, I have a thing about geometry in my artwork the feeling that it evokes it is a feeling that over time I like it to grow on me before showing, if it does not grow i place it away, we add to our own artistic world accents that make it just right ... hard sometimes to get a written expression out right, thank you for the reply.

Powerful and vulnerable. A living goddess transcending what life brings.

Wow this is beautiful! What medium is this? The details are amazing and the sky looks wonderful.

Thank you @renascence, I have given a more in-depth reply regarding the medium here.

Her expression is the most powerful part of the painting, I think you nailed it just perfectly! She definitely looks angry, furious, with a vicious S&M headpiece; and at the same time, she is sitting down and holding peacefully a bunch of flowers... what a great conflict, excellently rendered in your painting! The arrows remind me of Saint Sebastian's martyrdom; but one of them is shooting for the moon, perhaps that is the quest of the title? To reach something so far away, to shoot for the stars? Excellent, I have to resteem this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79