On Interpreting Art

in #art7 years ago

I enjoy reading interpretations of my work. 

Let me make that perfectly clear before I continue, and keep that statement in mind while you are reading the forthcoming words.

The warmest of such experiences are those which make me feel like there is some sort of connection between me and the viewer, an understanding. 

There are other instances, in which I found myself befuddled or perplexed, because I couldn't possibly see how someone could see my artworks that way, but they do, and that is their prerogative. 


Once, a man who looked at a selection of my paintings from 2012 - mind you, he never met me, or talked to me, he only knew that the artist behind those paintings is female - he said that the artist (me) clearly has lesbian tendencies.

This was obvious to him, because why else would a woman paint female characters in her artworks, and not male ones, as she should?!

An open and shut case. :)



"I Choose My Scars" (2012), Sabina Nore

Someone has concluded based on my metaphorical self-portrait "I Choose My Scars" that I must be into sadomasochism, again "clearly".
(Got to love those "clearlies".)

The majority of the people, however, see it for what it is, a metaphorical portrait about choice in life. At my last exhibition, a woman was moved to tears in front of this particular piece.


I enjoy reading interpretation of my artworks. There are times, though, when I still can't help but think of the following joke:

Life is all about perspective, isn't it? 

To find out more about me and my artworks, visit my website: www.SabinaNore.com
To get occasional (very rare) direct e-mail from me, subscribe to my newsletter.

Sabina Nore
@anibas

Sort:  

Thats so funny - I find it rather interesting the extreme perspectives. I love to paint women, and I am a 100% straight female. Women are beautiful, powerful, strong and intelligent. I am currently working through a series paying tribute to strong female characters in film. It's good that you keep a positive attitude, because at the end of the day, if it's not true, it's not real. I love the joke too - I've never heard that before lol. Following, upvoted and resteemed! Beaufitufl painting by the way - I love the fierce expression - its beautiful - love your color palette!

Thank you @j-vo!
I am not sure if my attitude is positive, like you say, or simply a somewhat detached one. There are all kinds of people on this planet, each with their individual stories, experiences, conclusions, filters. Filters through which they see everything they see, including artworks.
Now, as an artist, imagine giving crucial importance to absolutely each and every opinion that is thrown one's way. That would probably be an expedited way to go crazy. :)
So yes, in that sense, that joke IS priceless...
There's nothing like a humorous anecdote to make a point.

I really like the art piece it is beautiful we all have scars but we do get decide how we carry the. Is this all hand painted or it it digitally edited as well? I hope you don't mind me asking

Thank you @raymonjohnstone!
In regards to your question, my artworks are never digitally edited. They are either oil, or acrylics, on board of canvas, or they are digitally hand-painted, from scratch, which is just another medium of painting. In this case, as with many of my artworks from 2012 and 2013, it is a digital painting. No photographs, no editing, no filters or anything of the sort, everything is painted by hand.

Very cool thanks for sharing and I look forward to seeing more.

Sibina your Powerful in the eyes, heroic and with an astute body pose, background forces the eyes to the center focal point being your face, but i saw your eyes first then took note of the scars, was that intended or was it accidental, love your work its as if your projecting that inner self outward and yet still keeping it inside the eyes in this painting. How long did it take, I like to walk away from my work then come back to get fresh perspective, but then again to each is own with ones on muse iI say, bye the way Sabina i just placed two more image from my catalog i made as well hope you like. and i enjoyed this.

Thank you @crom131!
I don't remember exactly how long this one took, and I don't like to improvise with facts, so.. I don't know. :)

It certainly is all about perspectives. Well said.

Well for me any interpretation would be true because an interpretation is by essence subjective.
Great great painting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58316.34
ETH 2583.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43