Hated in the Nation - Pathfinder

in #art6 years ago

Here is a painting of mine I don't particularly like. It could be great, I like a lot of things about it, so maybe it's just not finished. 

I am showing it to you now because something that happened last night reminded me of it.


Pathfinder (2016), Sabina Nore

This song....

I heard it in one of the best episodes of "Black Mirror", maybe the best episode of all.


The whole series in incredible

An anthology series exploring a twisted, high-tech world where humanity's greatest innovations and darkest instincts collide.

Set in a world only minutes from our own, "Black Mirror" unveils how modern technologies can backfire and be used against their makers, every  episode set in a slightly different reality with different characters  combating different types of technologies.

Source: imdb


Sometimes though, especially if I watched a couple of these stories in a row, I noticed it was too much. My head kept trying to come up with a solution, it seemed urgent, and I didn't see it. I didn't see a more gentle, or better, yet still plausible way.

Eventually, I stopped watching it. It was showing me a whole lot of things I already knew, and couldn't fix. Then, yesterday, I changed my mind, and watched one episode, Hated in the Nation. The 6th episode of the 3rd season.

Have you seen it?


Let's just say, I didn't regret changing my mind.


Sort:  

"world where humanity's greatest innovations and darkest instincts collide".

Only in French ; but i've recently read a sci-fi / philosophy novel.
The story : in a future very close, people suddenly get the power to know everything that is known in the world. You ask yourself, a question, and your mind sends you the answer.
Due to that new particularity, huge progresses and changes happen worldwide. But if that leads to the best things, there's also the darkest sides of human beings that use it.
And through the story, we can understand that, ultimately, what directs our minds to know if all the various changes are beneficial or not, is that good old philosophy : questions that let us know what a human being really needs more.
And in this "more", there are after all also very simple things. That's a good guide when we can feel overwhelmed by such amount of complexity newly brought to us.
The "Noosphère" is this new ability to know everything instantanously.
It's also the title of the novel (by Audrey Pleynet).
Learn French if you want to read it! :)

Learning French in order to read one book....
Actually, I do speak some French, probably enough to read a comic book. That's something too.
Anyway...

What you describe reminds me of two things:

  1. The science fiction movie Arrival, which I love, for many reasons.
  2. The book I am going to write, which was supposed to be called "Legends of Nu".

a piece that connects man to himself. U drew my attention while watching the black mirror.
now I'm excited to see here :)
with the drawing became more meaningful!
a perfect picture . congrats

Thank you very much @artizm

no time to watch - I don't even have a TV.
I have paintings on the back burner. I don't hate any of them, I just think they are, in the present form, not good enough. Sometimes I even cut them up to use details of it. One time (decades ago) I gave one away to some artist friends who were into collage, to do with as they pleased. idk what happened to it - it was unfinished, and besides that, also damaged.
upvoted, resteemed

Absolutely love this image, not sure why you dislike it so much; but I hate just about everything I do so I should be one to talk.

Slept through that episode; maybe I should watch it again. Sometimes I forget if I was tired or bored when I sleep through something.

Thanks @twirble!
Maybe you should. :)

I love your painting

Great painting, i like the background, the colors and tones, the arrangement of the composition, and the over all imagery, the only thing i find a litle bit odd is the figure, it seems like its missing apart from one finger in the stretched hand, a limb, this it seems to me is derived from her pose, where her left leg and arm are presented in the same relative position due to the perspective, if you ask me that is were you should try to improve this work ...
Hope you don't mind my suggestion and observation, you are a talented artist and i know you got the skills to solve it if you want!
I have never watched this series (I've been disconnected from TV for some time now) but it seems interesting ...
Thank you for sharing!

I haven't had a TV since the 1990s. :)
Thanks for your feedback @tracer-paulo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43