🎨 Artwork/ Paintings // Swimming in the colors (u boju u boju)! // blast from the past

in #art6 years ago


Today I can't imagine making a painting without color. But my way was not easy to find, how to began swimming with all colors freely.


At the beginning I used only 'warm' colors ... like in this portrait:


image.jpg


The same thing happened with color in my first abstract paintings, 'warm' colors dominated.


I was using big formats, about 1,70 height. What I like with big formats is that I can paint not only from my wrist but from all over the hand-moving. I was enjoying that all over painting moment.


The next two are among the first ones I've made, both are about 1,70 m height:


1-7_1.jpg


Red color is most closest to me, so was playing mostly with that one at first.


Well, I used a little bit of blue, and purple. But deliberately didn't wanted to harmonize red color with green, I wanted this too much red coming out of the painting.


The same thing I was doing with the second 'big red':


2-7_1.jpg


This last one I have no more. I have over painted it. I never have enough canvas. But have enough oil! For now :) :)


Here are some photos of the process:
First one 'big red':
Untitled-1a.jpg


Second one 'big red':
Untitled-2a.jpg


Both paintings I have turned 180 degrees at the end. Now when I look at them.. they do not seem so bad, but I wouldn't do it that way today for sure. :) I miss here some more details, some more struggling, searching...


On the next painting shown here I dealt with little more details,
making smaller brush-strokes.
This one is also about 1,70 m height.


Rad_br.1.jpg


What I like about this painting is some tickling sense of joy I managed to achieve. I used more colors here and I like how I played with composition, but was not completely satisfied in general impressions, still missing something. Maybe just a little bit of under painting would do it right. It seems on this photo that there is a lot of white but truly that is not pure white at all, just very light brown. :)


So after my experience with big formats I went back to smaller ones.. trying to find how to improve my painting. I'll show you some of them in my future posts.



Prior art stories:
Artwork/ Portrait drawings (3) // First steps towards abstraction! // blast from the past
Artwork/ Portrait drawings (2) // Expression! // blast from the past
Artwork/ Portrait drawings (1) // My way! // blast from the past
A few quick ink sketches of my cat


Feel free to follow and enjoy my painting adventures!



@andrijana

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Hi! Thank you for noticing my post!
I followed @artzone and will support other artist. Happy to find artzone community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60