🎨 Artwork/ Portrait drawings (2) // Expression! // blast from the past

in #art6 years ago (edited)


My search for the expression soon started to be vivid!


This is one of the drawings I made in the first year of practice.


IMG_2236_a.jpg


It was about that model. She HAD that look in her eyes, a strong one. I tried to transfer it to the drawing.


IMG_2238_b.jpg


The whole drawing was made just to focus on the look in her eyes. I tried to express some train of thought she may had, maybe better to say some flow of emotions. Here is visible progress that I have made on hand drawing, if I compare to the drawings shown in the last post. But that look in her eyes was most important here to me. I even didn't pay attention to some lights and shadows in eye drawing, there are only two black spots. The aim was to focus her look in something deeply that was going on inside her. There is that black strip on her sweater, very important detail made with one reason: to highlight the eyes. For sure, that sweater didn't look exactly that way, artist has to do some changes in favor of composition.


What I did with drawing of this woman I made it even stronger on next shown drawing of one man:


image.jpg


Here line becomes more thicker, contrast greater. I didn't mind for details anymore. The only thing that was carrying me was to make strong drawing. To express passion I was bearing inside me. His left hand I didn't draw, that was advice of my teacher, one really respectable man we all loved very much. He told me that here this hand is not important at all, and that I can draw a hand with one line only, if I wanted to. Yes, I wanted to, and did that. I understood his aim to teach us importance of composition..


I'll show you another drawing of that same model.


01_a.jpg


Look at his face! And hands!. I really succeeded here to show all my passion. I distorted his realistic look a little bit in the behalf of carrying out my own feelings. His shirt is very simple drawn, without details. A clear triangle is visible, shaped with face and hands. Strong, simple, clear. I succeed with this one.


I know it's a matter of taste weather you like this kind of drawing or not. But most important thing to me was to reach the goal of my own expression.


When I was using black and white, it was much easier to achieve that strong contrast, than with use of colors. At least to me.


Color is now the filed that I'm interesting the most. How to find this strong contrast in color?


Just to show you, this was one of my first self portraits in color:


image.jpg


This was one of my first attempts of using color in painting. I was still using here lighter and darker colors to make3D illusion, though didn't pay much attention to fine modeling. Instead of nice and fine modeling I used almost flat shapes. But use of color is very shy here. I still had so much to learn.


I suppose it is obvious that after this kind of drawings, after searching primary for rhythm, contrast and balance, I jumped in abstract painting at the end.


To be continued...



@andrijana

Sort:  

aaaaaa! <3
can't wait for more!
e, jel možeš napraviti takav post al o mojim slikama? :D

:) :) :) Strah me je. Tko zna što ću otkriti..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64582.42
ETH 3502.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46