Making the Album cover for 808S NOT FOUND by Ruben Alexander (Entry for his contest)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

For the past two days I have been working on a cover for an album made by @rubenalexander. You can check @rubenalexander 's contest post here. The first step of this project, was drawing a scene inspired by his music. And since his music was posted on Steemit, my theme was inspired by the sea and mistical creatures. I made the drawing in nib and black ink. Then I altered the image using only the center, and adding a pattern as the background or a simple colour. I couldn't decide which one should I enter to his contest, so I'm uploading three versions. 

Which one is your favorite?

And here are some photos with the process.

Follow me if you don't want to miss any of my posts

@anca3drandom

Sort:  

LOVE IT!

resteemed! :-)

Glad you like it! Thank you for the resteem :)

Really nice artwork. Thanks for showing the process you use as well. It is hard to pick a favorite, as they all have their own different look and feel. But I think number 2 intrigues me the most. It reminds me of viewing the scene through a telescope, like if you were on a cliff way above the scene at the beach, looking in as an outsider. Haven't' heard the music yet, so not sure what you are going for...but either way, phenomenal hand drawn artwork as usual.

Thank you! I'm between number 1 and 2 .You can listen to it here https://rubenb.bandcamp.com/album/808s-not-found

Thanks, and good luck in the contest. I'll give it a listen.

I'm not sure I understand ?!

I mean it's cool. it was in Russian, sorry :)

:) Thank you. Your pen and ink work is always wonderful!

It's really very cool. I like seeing the progression to complete...

Thank you ! I like showing different steps along the way.

great work... like it and voted...^^

Awesome work. A new style for you?

Thanks! It's not new. I used to do ink drawing a while ago, but it takes to many hours to make. Here is another I made just with ink dots and some white ink

this is brilliant

Thank you :D !

This looks amazing. Good job.

Very nice. I prefer the one with the black around it.

Two votes for that one until now :) Thanks!

Beautiful work. I like the first and last better than the dark background. I think my favorite would be the 1st. Following you now!

Thank you! The 1st is one of my choices too. I'm also following !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54