How to make Linocut Prints - Leafy seadragon (Photos + Video)

in #art8 years ago

[Original Content] Linoleum was first used as a medium for printing in the early 1900s in Germany, where it was first used for making patterns on wallpaper.

Famous artists from Pablo Picasso to Henri Matisse have made linocuts, and today it is considered a respected art form.

 Linocut is a printmaking technique  in which a piece of linoleum is used for a relief surface. 

The subject for this linocut print that I will make is the Leafy Seadragon; it's name is derived from its resemblance to the mythical dragon. ( more info https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leafy_seadragon )

Supplies:

  •  pencil, eraser
  •  piece of linoleum
  •  linocutting tool
  •  etching ink, acrylics
  •  brayer ( I used a small paint roller)
  •  paper for the print

The sketch

First you need to draw your design. I prefer to draw directly on the linoleum.

What you draw will be printed flipped, mirrored. So keep this in mind when you make the sketch.

Tip: you can use a black sharpie to trace over the pencil lines over the linoleum to better see the shape.

Cutting the pattern

You have to be careful when using the sharp tool, don't rush.

The part that you cut out will not print on the paper.

For the smaller lines I used a nail cuticle trimmer, for the large areas the U shaped lino cutting tool. 

Ink the linoleum

This is the part where we place the ink on the linocut and spread it with the brayer, in my case the small paint roller type tool. The brayer will give the best result, because the sponge from the roller will leave a texture.

You can put your ink on a piece of glass and roll it and then spread it on the linoleum.

It may take a few passes the spread across the whole linocut.


Print 

Take the paper and place it over the linocut. Take a spoon and start rubbing all over the paper to transfer the ink.

After you have covered all the region peel the paper and you have your first print.

Besides printing ink I have also used acrylics, because they are less messy and don't stain as much as the ink.

 

Detail from the print I made with ink

I made this one with blue, green acrylics 

 

This one I made with grey acrylics

This one I made before I cut the background for the leafy seadragon


Which print was your favorite?

Check out my pyrography art, if you are into wood.

@anca3drandom

Sort:  

Indeed, it's possible to make amazing work with this technique. I live in Spain and last year i saw an exhibition with amazing linocuts. Here is one : https://www.instagram.com/p/4ivgNNtoUk/ It took MONTHS to complete! :D

Larger scale pieces do take a lot of time to complete.

My favourite is the one you made with ink :o) Thanks for sharing this - very inspirational, and I will be trying this for sure! Upvoted and followed :o)

Thank you. My favorite is the one with blue and green. I think I will intervene with some drawing ink over it.

Ah, this takes me back. I remember doing these in high school. You can definitely get one hell of a result from it, but I tend to prefer scratchboard. :)

I didn't knew about scratchboard. Just went to wiki. It seems like a cool thing to try :)

Love me some scratchboard...

This is so cool. I like it!

At First I thought Black and white photographs, Wow!

Beautiful. I remember doing this at school.

Thank you! It seems that is was a popular activity; I didn't know.

Wow very nice like always! ;)

Glad you liked the prints!Thanks!

Love the one done with Acryllic.
Been a while since I worked with linoleum. Fun thing is that you can stash away somewhere and make prints again. When you want too. At least when you remember where it was that you,ve stashed it...

Yes. I had this one since last year and I just added the background. Thanks!

The green-blue, forgot to mention...

I just assumed it was that one for some reason :) that's the one that I like

Mmmm I love a lino cut- I have a piece sat in my art box waiting (it may have to wait a very long time). I do like the process, and enjoy doing it. But, I'm clumsy and take chunks out of my fingers with the tools! You have skills girl!

Yes, you really need to be careful with this things.I made another one yesterday and I managed to cut myself because while I was cutting I was watching Dateline mysteries.

I just had to Google what that was, I thought you were confessing to watching cheesy dating shows :D

Hahaha ..no. I like watching investigations and that kind of stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59079.50
ETH 2697.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50