Magical World (#9): Chessman from all around the globe

in #art6 years ago (edited)

chessmen knight.jpg

Most famous board game of the world

Everybody knows chess. The board with its 64 square fields, black and white. The king, the queen, the knights, the towers. But what I'm sure most people don't know (and even I found out only yesterday), is that chess can be a very colourful affair! Let me show you the lovely pieces of art I discovered in the Chessmen Museum in Rotterdam.

a place to play chess.jpg

A place for playing chess, at the Chessmen Museum in Rotterdam

Chessmen Museum Rotterdam

I stumbled upon this location by surprise. As I was enjoying the architecture of the popular Cube Houses, I passed it by. I didn't go inside at the time. It was only when I came home and went through my pictures, I realised that a chessmen museum was probably an awesome place to go and take some pictures! As the place is on my (new) regular route into town, I visited a day later.

chessmen ninja.jpg

Ferocious ninja chessman

Favourite chessmen

The chessboard in these first few pictures was my favourite. Just look at the colour and detail and ferociousness of these Japanese chessmen! I've played my share of chess. But to be honest, I'm too impatient to play. I get bored before I've thoroughly considered all strategies and the consequences of my moves. I like to just do what my gut says will work best, which means I tend to lose, lol.

But imagine playing chess with this army! I think I'd feel way less bored and would have a much higher incentive to keep all of them alive as long as possible. Such beautiful work of art!

chessboard from the back.jpg

Just imagine you're sitting behind these, ready to play with this army. Chess is not so boring now, is it?

page break small.png

Chessmen from around the globe

The Japanese board was my favourite. But there were literally thousands of chessmen in the museum. From all around the globe. Most were sitting behind glass, which is understandable but also much less interesting for taking pictures. But sharing a few of the sets, to give you an impression of the variety.

chessboard mirror.jpg

With lama's

cartoon figures chess.jpg

Cartoon figures chessmen

Chessmen German.jpg

A set from Beieren, Germany

chessmen chinese.jpg

Beautiful set from China

chessmen game of thrones.jpg

My second favourite set. Left me with a Game of Thrones impression, with all the dragons and the red 'stone' set into the chessboard table.

page break small.png

General impression

If you're visiting the Cube Houses in Rotterdam, then don't miss popping in at this curious little museum. The chessmen are the private collection of Ridder Dijkshoorn, and even though the place could use some better lighting in the back areas, it is really fun to go and have a look.

chessmen museum rotterdam.jpg

Giving you an impression of the museum's setup. The girl to the left was taking the entree fee (2 euro's), and petting her bird which she takes along from home during working hours

If you have a closer look, you'll find some tributes to Dutch creators around the museum. A Vincent van Gogh poster, some books by Rotterdam's 15th century philosopher Erasmus, a chessboard with Piet Mondriaan design.

chessboard Romans vs Greeks.jpg

This board was brought in while I was visiting. Made of porcelain, very fragile but in great shape. Depicting the Romans and the Greeks, each with their mythological creatures.

chessboard mondriaan.jpg

Piet Mondriaan design

page break small.png

Thanks for your visit!

There were so many amazing boards and chessmen that I didn't include in this post. A visit will definitely be worth your while! But even if you don't make it there yourself, thanks for visiting this post and for your support. If you enjoyed reading, don't forget to follow for more posts of the Magical World series.

chessmen museum.jpg

Final impression of the chessmen collection


Magical World Series

This is post #9 in the Magical World Series. With these posts, I hope to add a little happiness and light-heartedness to your day. There is magic in every little corner of the world. And if we share it with each other, it does really brighten up the place!

Earlier posts in this series:

All content is created by me, and Steemit original.
Camera used: Canon G7X

Screenshot 2018-04-17 21.18.51.png

Sort:  

The museum looks cool. It's nice to see many chessman from many countries.

Thanks! I love collections like these. So colorful and such a variety in style, with an amazing amount of detail. It's awesome someone actually put in the effort to put all this together! :)

Wow ithe pieces look so beautiful.Thank you for posting.By the way I fell in love with your content.Would you mind being friends with me??I think we can help each other grow .Follow for follow, what's say??
I am a photographer
BELOW are some of my works.
LRM_EXPORT_20170619_191032-01-01.jpeg

Had a look at your content. Looks great. Sure, will follow :)

Thank you dear

You didn't follow me though. Means you only spammed my account for my follow, no upvotes or follow from your side. Not really appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79