Perpetual Evolution - ice sculpture

in #art7 years ago



Evolution seems to be something that is relegated to a historical idea but with this sculpture I wanted people to think about the idea that it is still going on. Maybe through the use of technology we have been able to protect ourselves and slow down the process when it comes to the natural environment but we have created New environments were in the future changes will probably happen to our bodies to choose the fittest survivor in them.

I don't have a well thought out theory of what this may hold for the future, (I am just a sculptor after all) but these things play on my mind every now and then. I brought my two year old son to the Natural History Museum here in Dublin today and enjoyed his mind being blown with all the diversity of life and how each creature is a product of their environment.



Anyway, this sculpture was created in the Estonian capital Tallinn in 2006 as part of an ice sculpture trail through the city. It was so nice to work in this small park close to the center. It was -20c and putting in a few 8 hour days made me really appreciate the local hospitality and my warm bed.

Each of the forms is of a similar structure but slowly getting smaller to symbolise the apparent slow down but continuation all the same. I used the Möbius strip structure to further reinforce the idea. The ladder was inspired by the genetic code of DNA.

Not really much more to say about this one except I hope it gets you thinking of what you'll evolve into. :smirk:


clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thanks for reading my little musing, if you want to check my last post here's a little link. It's my first video on Dtube and I will be doing some more very soon.

Oxfam - sand sculpture animation




Till next time...
@ammonite

Sort:  

Your work amazes me every time I see it! I love Ice sculptures... remind me of my own favorite material ;-)

Thank you. The transparency of ice and glass leading to so many creative possibilities.

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87