Climate change- sand sculpture animation

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Watch Sand sculpture animation for Oxfam video on DTube

So Dtube is now up and running. Sounds like it has great possiblities. As I said in my intro post I am also a bit of a film maker and am looking forward to sharing some of my film projects with the steemit community, But for now as a test of Dtube I uploaded this small clip.

This is a sculpture I did in 2009 for Oxfam Ireland. They asked me to create a simple sculpture for a photo press call based on an advertisment they were going to air on television to get people aware of climate change. It was carved within a few hours for the shoot at 12pm and then i had the rest of the day to play.

OxfamSandSculpture.jpg

I decided rather than just destroy the sculpture I would experiment with taking it down in a creative way. My nephew Nathaniel was on hand as a photographer so I set about carving away the figure to reveal flesh then bone and finally away to nothing. Nathaniel taking photos at each step. Then with a bit of creative editing I turned it into this animation where the figure comes into being. Finally, I got my wonderful wife who I had just met at the time to do the voice over.

I really did it as an experiment for myself. to try this technique out for future projects.Of course I gave a copy to Oxfam as a gift.

It was actually a fun little project and it was so nice to meet Mary Robinson who was the UN commissioner for human rights as well as one of Ireland's most popular presidents a few years before.

OxfamSandSculpturemary.jpg


Ps

Dtube certainly has great possibilities especially with its connection to the Steemit network. Wishing @heimindanger all the best with its development.

For those interested here is a link to the original advertisement on the youtubes

Here you can check out my last post of some ice sculpture work

Why are we here?




Thanks for joining me. I hope to bring you more filmwork soon. This post is a bit of a test
@ammonite

Sort:  

Neat idea. What I think would be really cool is a sort of time-capsule sculpture. One with layers of different materials that erode at different rates, so that 50 years down the road a new sculpture emerges naturally, then maybe 200 years later a new one is revealed from the last layer eroding.

That a cool idea. I really like when sculptures become time based. Friends of mine recently made a clay sculpture in London and had it under a shower of water so over a few days it melted away. I'll root out a timelapse I made of a similar idea. Your idea has really got me thinking.

great post

Your work is amazing, I'm following and looking forward to seeing more. Love the message you give on your videos.

Thank you. I took a look through yours drawings. Great stuff. I love the old illustration styling.

Thanks man, keep in touch

Great idea and realization, love the video, it's sending so strong masage. It's always great when artists join and make something together.

Mind (and sand) blowing sculpture ;-)
Maybe stronger backwards?

Thsnks. I must try that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55