Atlantis with tentacles - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago



I won't keep you long. I promise. I have few things to say about this sculpture project and a lack of good images so you can keep your coat on and press the back button pretty soon.

I was back in Zeebrugge again with the sculpture park theme of Atlantis. This was the second time for this theme, you can check out the other one here which I worked on in San Diego.



Myself and Dan Glover, an US carver, were tasked with making this temple like structure overrun with octopus (of is that octopie?) Why the octopussies would be attacking the temple was a good question. So we thought that it must have something inside that they wanted. Not being the most astute cephalopodiatrists our fun idea was to have the temple in the shape of an ink pot and the octotarts trying to dip their quills.



So. that is what we did. I also worked on another pile where I made a very ugly mermaid. 'nuf said!
Bye for now. Please close the door on your way out.




clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steemit to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice. This will hopefully give it a new life on the blockchain. I am doing them in chronological order so there are many more to come.




Apathy (Part 2 sculpting) - sand sculpture




Apathy (Part 1 Compacting)- sand sculpture




Reflections of a mermaid - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

All Rights reserved @ammonite

Sort:  

Plus your depiction of Atlantis is interesting. Do you think they really used the eye in that manner?

Probably not, I admit there is some sort of Illuminate feel to it but that wasn't our intention. I think you just wanted to give the appearance that there was something inside. Thanks for your comments.

That's one ugly mermaid alright but I reckon the octopuses are so classy you get a pass on the merhag.

Thanks for your honesty. It's on projects like this that I am happy my work is temporary. Imagine having to look at that in marble for centuries. I like to look on it that me using ephemeral materials is a service to the well-being of humanity.

Hahahah, yer a gas man!

Wery goodd art work great style if you like abstract art check me out @chupapic havee funn i hope too see more art ;)

Thank you, I like abstract and will be posting more over time. This work is quite old but over the years I think I have formed new ways of looking at the world. I'll check out your blog. Thanks again.

Loved the evolving story of the octopi XD

Thank you kindly

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=atlantis-with-tentacles-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Upvoted because I have a soft spot for sand sculptures. Thanks for sharing. Much love! <3

You mention some "tentacles" there, are you into Ozric Tentacles by any chance?

Will give that a listen later. Haven't heard of it but always great to hear some new sounds.

I have got into them a lot lately, as it is one of the things my dude likes to listen to when he is painting. So becoming a fan was sort of forced upon me but I am glad it happened.

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69054.54
ETH 3793.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70