Atlantis - sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The island of Atlantis is quite a popular story in many cultures and it's mythology can be found in lots of literature through the centuries since Plato first spoke of it. What an interesting theme for a sand sculpture project hoping to be the Guinness Book of Records attempt as the world's largest and tallest. Unfortunately the project suffered the same fate as it's name sake.



I was so excited to be invited to this really big project in Sand Diego, the Americas. I had only been carving sand for one year and was surprised they would invite someone so amateur. Luckily, in those days there weren't that many sand sculptors and to do something of this scale all hand were on deck.



Rocky foundations

I was part of a contingent coming from Europe of around 30 carvers. We would have two weeks to work our magic. Four of us from Ireland were invited and had postponed our return ticket for a week to have a little holiday after our hard work.

On arriving we were met with this site and I mean this Site. There was nothing ready and nobody seemed to have a clue what was going on. We gathered organically in different groups and spent our first week compacting. I really don't mind this kind of work but flying in 60 sculptors from around the world to do this kind of work seemed like a waste of resources. One team of Japanese cavers which included a mayor could only spend one week on the project and that week they had to shovel sand leaving before they could make any sculpture.



The wild west

When the Japanese left we all got to work. It was mayhem with nobody knowing what to do and fights breaking out as people tried to exert their dominance. What really pissed me off was all the American 'Master carvers' (As they called themselves) showing up when all the hard work was done and walking around like they owned the place, earmarking sand that we had compacted for their own 'Masterpiece'.



I am no master beater so I found a little place to work far on the other side of the sculpture.I would be working with a group of Danish and a Catalonian sculptor. I had just meet most of them but I seemed like it would be fun group to work with.

Extensive research

We quickly decided we do something a little different and discussed about what had actually happened to Atlantis. The Danes in their viking mythology have this big worm called Jorungard's Worm. It encircles the earth with it's tall in its mouth. If it was to lose hold of it's tail disaster would befall the earth and that's what happened to Atlantis. I know, a bit of a tenuous link but we just wanted to have a bit of fun while the Sand Atlantis was falling all around us.



We really had a great time making our 'Big scary monster' as we called it. I remember working on his back and the fan like form running down his back. Then spent lots of time making the cracked paving to give the appearance of him bursting out of the ground to attack the city above.

The rest of the project was not finished when we left on our weeks holiday south of the border down Mexico way. We were asked to stay and help finish but after the hard work we had already done and the toxic environment we declined. I really didn't like San Diego and the American way. Once we crossed the border to Mexico we really let our hair down and there are some crazy stories from that time. They involve lots of tequila and nudity so I won't go into them here.

The project never got the record in the end due to not being finished and being hit by a hurricane soon after we had come back to Ireland



As a special bonus for this post here is a little super8 film I made during the project

https://d.tube/v/ammonite/uhwfu7gi


clickablesm.gif


Ps

I hope you don't mind my long winded posts, I really look at what I do on steemit as part of a long form memoir of my work. It may not be of interest to everyone but once I get started the memories flood back. Thanks for reading if you have gotten to here and a special bonus thank you to those who have read to here. For those wanting more of my nonsense check out some of my previous posts below




Monther Earth - sand sculpture




Glitch - Short film

I hope you'll join me again soon. All comments welcome
@ammonite

Sort:  

It'll only be "long winded" if it's full of hot air. Your posts are informative, witty and entertaining so they don't fit the criteria. :).

Thank you, that means alot. I can sometimes get lost in my own world while I write and I'm happy that people take the time to read and comment on my musings.

Great post! The Atlantis story fascinates me and I loved hearing about the myth of Jorungard's Worm. It's a shame the sculpture didn't get the record, but it looks like you had an amazing time making it. 😊

Yes it is an interesting myth with probably some bases in reality. Yes I had great fun and have since then worked on of projects of this scale and think I helped break the record once or twice. Thank you for reading.

wish I could see these in real life - such fantastic work!
upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/959725502264168448

visionaryartcom Visionary Art tweeted @ 03 Feb 2018 - 09:49 UTC

Atlantis - sand sculpture — Steemit

steemit.com/art/@ammonite/… / https://t.co/pcZAEdpvL8

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you very much for your support. I'm sure there are sand sculpture festivals around your area to check out.

This isn't longwinded. What is intetesting is the process of something. Having to work collaboratively on something as personal as art can be very hit or miss. I guess if you can properly, instinctively choose your collaborators, its going to be easier. Having to go with loud peoples bad ideas can be very compromising.

Very true, Luckily in sand sculpture most of us are used to working solo or as part of a team on bigger project. I do prefer to work alone mainly because I slow down as I have to compromise with other peoples idea but I do like seeing how as a team you can do something which would not be possible on your own. Lots of diplomacy comes into play as you steer the vision to a place where you are all happy.

Your sculptures and "long winded" posts are awesome. Keep them coming. =)

Thank you @leoplaw your posting style is an inspiration to me.

Thank you @ammonite, that is a grand compliment to receive from the likes of you! Likewise.

It's a pity, the event didn't turn out so good and the sculptures were destroyed so quickly. Seeing the monster...Have you ever done a Cthulhu? :)

The whole thing was very mismanaged and in ways it was destined to fail. Although, I had a great time being there and made some great friends in the process.
I had to google a Cthulhu. No, I never made one but have made some Octopus and other crazy creatures over the year. Many more sculptures to come.
Thanks for checking out my blog. I really love your surreal work

Thank you so much. It's worth to take a look into H.P. Lovecrafts horror fiction universe :)

Wow... these are some incredible works of art-- I can't even imagine what goes into creating something like this. AND it's completely impermanent, which makes it so different from most forms of art.

Thank you. The impermanence is probably one of the things I like the best. If all my work still existed it would probably fill a couple of football pitches. I hope it will live on on the steem blockchain.

Those are some awesome sculptures.

Thank you very much.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=atlantis-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks to Sola, I discovered your report late but enjoyed reading a lot. Follow you now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32