Sci-fi Armor - 3D game asset

in #art5 years ago

Hi Guys,

Sorry for posting after a long time. Didnt have my laptop for almost a month. Just want to share my latest game ready asset.

Final Render:

allan-j-bangera-aa.jpg
Steps:

1)So the first task was to create the base on which the armor would be made. I could have used existing human bodies but I decided to build one for this project. The most important step is to google for references.

2)I began with sculpting with the body. For this sculpt I am targeting to do only the upper half of the character.

59954161_848379718858170_8090155485719691264_n.jpg

I keep sculpting till i think the proportions are something that seems alright to me.

59478025_2731740866852557_6891856599363616768_n.jpg

Finally, Just adjusting the proportions a bit more.
58381911_594518341033363_8498560257994260480_n.jpg

3)Once the base is done I start sculpting the armor one part at a time.

a.JPG

I keep building on this.

2.JPG

Final sculpt:
59654535_374533186606305_4528998449051336704_n.jpg

4)Once the sculpt is completed I convert it to low polygon so that it ready for games. The only thing I added was wing/blades just to push the sculpt a bit more.
7.jpg

5.jpg

5)After this is converted to low polygon, I layout the UVs so that the texture is applied nicely without distortions.

8.jpg

10.jpg

  1. Finally used 3D coat to texture the armor. I think it turned out pretty good.

allan-j-bangera-aa4.jpg

allan-j-bangera-aa.jpg

allan-j-bangera-aa3.jpg

allan-j-bangera-aa2.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @allanjohnson20! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Awesome work! I played with Zbrush, but it always takes me days to make something that should take hours. WHat program do you use? Anyway, great work!

I used mainly Zbrush for the overall sculpt. While converting to game level polycount, I used topogun(you can use zbrush itself or maya, just I prefer topogun), maya for UV layouts and rendering and finally 3D coat for texturing.

Awesome stuff. I found working in Zbrush was fun, but I had problems with hard surfaces and polygon reduction. Now, there are so many options and abilities, it would take me another 6 months to a year to learn how to sculpt a simple face. lol. Maybe a little exaggerated, but the program quickly overwhelms me.

Yes, You definitely need to put in time...I am currently looking into rigging of stuff...It feels awwsome...btw what do you do professionally?

Nothing art related. lol. I did sell some poses and texture sets at DAZ3D a few years back, and I just finished a book cover and some prints that you can see in my blog steempeak.com/@dutybound. I even show a little of a temple model I made in Zbrush awhile back in the steemit blog. Sadly, when it comes to making money at it, I made very little. But I love doing it. Currently, a 27 year vet government worker. Pays the bills. lol.

interesting. I posted something just now, Have a look. Its something I had posted a couple of months back but realized I didnt promote it as well as I should have. Its one one my most favorite sculpts :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16