Entry And Process For The ArtExplosion Contest : CryptozoologysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Crypto1.jpg
" - You lost somethin' mate ? - Yeah.. Can't find my k...AAH"



Hello Steemians !

Here is my entry for @juliakponsford's contest : Cryptozoology

I will also share the process with you but unfortunately no video.....I...failed....the encoding........A few more tests are needed (after banging my head on the wall).


For this piece actually I had to deal with the limitations of my computer a LOT. What this means is my laptop is weak. So the process is a bit different.

Step 1

I first took a look at the cryptozoology pictures on Pinterest to have a general idea of what is cryptozoology. What I took from there is mythical creatures roaming among the ordinary society, hidden from everyone, usually in nature. Usually, one dude will get to see or meet one and the situation is kind of surrounded in mystery.
This sets up the mood and Halloween coming soon....I got a few things in mind.

Knowing that my computer was definitely not willing to work properly and lag at every brushstroke, I thought it would be a nice idea to work on shapes and composition. Also try to limit the brush work to the minimum. Keeping the shape of the creature would be the most important thing here as I will be focusing mostly on the emotion I want to transmit (tell me what you feel when looking at it, it will be a big help thank you !)

After working a bit on the thumbnails, I found a composition I liked and thus, begun to work.

Step 2

The second step here was then to set the mood of my painting.
recently, I found out it helped me more to have the colors forst to get me into the story while painting. I found this nice gradient reminding me cold winters in Europe.
Mystery mood ? Perfect fit ! (I used the gradient tool (Shortcut G) here and used one of my own gradients I had)


1.jpg

Step 3

Now I have my colors, I set up the scene. I need a cold mysterious place in the middle of winter. A forest will work. Let's also add some drama and put a twilight sun in the background.

For this step I used the lasso tool and the filling tool (L and G short cut, if you want to change between 2 tools of the same family like gradient and fill, press Shift + shortcut)
This allows me to get sharp edges and also alleviate some weight on my CPU. To duplicate the trees I just kitbash them (duplicate 2-3 trees, past them elsewhere and rework them a bit). It helps to gain time (really important currency as concept artist) and help my CPU as well.



2.jpg

Step 4

The main character enters the scene, he found something. Trying to give personality to my characters is a matter I still struggle on a lot. But it is also important in order to translate properly the message to the audience (Still working on it, I have a long way to go still).
The painting part is the only thing I do with brushstrokes and actually paint it. Because I don't know how to get that feeling otherwise haha.


3.jpg

Step 5

Now that our character is on its way, I add the shape of the creature. Behind to emphasize the danger and unlikeliness of the encounter. I want the creature to be out of this world, like she just appeared, without a noise. Looking menacing but at the same time, we don't know...
The creature uses a 'line' shape, I wanted her to be close to the trees surrounding the scene to show that she belongs there. it is her territory, compared to the more triangular shape of the character.


4.jpg

Step 6

To give more importance to the creature I add the rimlight. and paint a bit the silhouette trying to focus on the dramatic light (ahem. messed up light kof* kof*)


5.jpg

Step 7

But something is still missing and I can't really feel the message I want to transmit. I found out that everything should work altogether and if we have an idea, always push it to the maximum, almost the ridiculous in order to have something worth it (I mean by that, trying to check the extremes first and then adapt to the drawing with what works best).
So I added snow.


6.jpg

Step 8

A few tweaks and effects later, It is done =D
(Levels, Hue Saturation, Iris Field Blur and High Pass for the effects)

Time : 3 hours


7.jpg


I hope you enjoyed as I did while painting it and that you could learn something new ^^
Have a wonderful week end !
Cheers !

You can find the contest page here =D
https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-13-theme-cryptozoology-25-sbd-in-prizes-all-forms-of-art-welcome

Sort:  

I love the mood and colors in this! Beautiful, thanks for participating!

I am already waiting for the next one haha it is really good weekly practice, thank you for the kind words !

Firstly god job. I wanna ask question. Did u use just photohop when u drawing this beauty?

Thank you @gunankoseoglu, Yep only photoshop =)

Cool painting man! :) Cheers!

great great work, and for someone like me just entering the world of Photoshop looks like pure SF :)

Thank you ! Oh you are just beginning Photoshop ? If you need any tips or help, feel free to hit me up, It's a wonderful tool =D

Yes yes, I started from nothing. Watching some you tube tutorials I found explaining staff I need for drawings..I will cry out for help for sure :) Thank you so much for offering help :)

Holy Crap, this is pretty crypto-creepy, love it!
I really like the environment too (its perfect for the character), which is always a struggle for me -
to place my characters in the right setting - and the way you went about it and described your thought process and how you did it is actually very helpful.Thank you for sharing!

Also i realized that all this time I wasnt following you, which i just remedied :) cheers!

Thank youuu @ankapolo for the kind words ! Yes I have a difficult time as well but now I just put the struggle aside an instead I ask questions like 'Do the mood translates effectively the emotions I want to convey ?' and 'How can I improve it ?'
Still have a long road to go but it helps me a lot =D (And I am fond of these little things in the expressions or poses that make the characters or the environments alive but I haven't figured it out haha)

Wow super nice thank you for detailing your process, this really help us appreciate the piece.

thank you @vachemorte !! I appreciate your support !

Amazing work and salute to the detailed tutorial!

thank you for the kind words !!

Congratulations @alcy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alcy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55