You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Asks: If It's Presented As An Art Exhibit Does That Make it Good?

in #art7 years ago

Art is a word that can have a lot of meanings. Personally I tent to respect and appreciate the kind of art that required a good amount of ability (maybe acquired in hours of practicing) and/or a good amount of work to be done. Maybe the kind of art showed here required too a good amount of time, and has a meaning behind. But the fact that I have to question myself about it makes it really hard to appreciate.
We also have a beauty sense, that may vary a lot from one person to another.
Art is upposed to be beautiful or meaningful. But personally I will never take this as a refernce!
Moreover I remember @rtdcs wrote a funny article about an interesting museum about ugly art in Boston! Here's the link:
https://steemit.com/art/@rtdcs/this-museum-only-exhibits-ugly-arts-because-there-are-things-so-ugly-that-they-can-not-be-ignored

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments from the perspective of an artist. I also think of art as something that should be beautiful which you rightly say is relative. I have read comments here that art doesn't need to be beautiful but to provoke a response. That seems more likely to me to be this artist's goal. My respnse...it's ugly!

Thanks for the link. I checked it out and I prefer those pieces!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42