"Pet dragon". History of a late contest submission!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

"Pet dragon". History of a late contest submission!


Just a little prewiev of the final result. Italian version on bottom.


Well, it's a little bit of regret that I post this work I did for @kristyglas's contest #dragoncontest a little bit too late to take part to it!

When I started to work on it three weeks ago, I particularly appreciated the long therm deadline, so I decided to do a quite deep study on this.

Since I was a little busy lately and since it tooked more than expected, I just finished my work yesterday evening. I took note of the deadline day but then I realized I was few hours late! ;( What a mess!

The good part

Even if I do regret I wasn't in time to be eligible, I still had a lot of fun working on it and it was a good motivation to draw and create. 

And most important is that I tried a very interesting and funny coloring technique! I remember that about one year ago I was interested in trying Copic colors but after some little experiments I just put them in my desk. Well, I really needed a quite fast coloring technique this time, so it was the perfect situation for giving them a try! And guess what, even without a lot of practice I was surpised on what you can do with just a handful Copic colors (twelve colors and some black tones)! I'll probably buy some more!

So in the end it was a good experience, thanks to @kristyglas for organizing the contest and congrats to all (...in time :D) partcipants and the winners!

Here you can find:

Process

First of all I studied a little the character, trying to put on the sheet my ideas about it. Since the topic was "your pet dragon", I decided to draw a creature between a dragon and a border collie, a dog that I like a lot!


After that I throwed down some small sketches, to find a composition that I liked. If you are wondering what's the little head on the bottom, just consider that I don't even know!


Next I drew a more detailed sketch.


I wasn't in love with this at all... so I did a new one!


Better, so let's go through iniking!


After that I did a "security" scan of the inked version, you never know what may happen when you start coloring... :D

And finally the colored version!


Here it is my "coloring setup"


Hope you enjoyed it! Just wondering who of you has a Border Collie and it feels like having a little "pet dragon" sometimes ;D

Thanks for watching!

 You can also see my work at the following sites:

..… ..… ..… ..…


@airmatti

llustrator, graphic designer

Outdoor adventurer

Folk and Blues enthusiast 

Team sports lover!


ITA:

Con un po' di rammarico posto questo lavoro fatto per il contest #dragonartcontest organizzato da @kristyglas. Purtroppo ho terminato il lavoro a deadline superata da qualche ora! 

In ogni caso è stato divertente e un'ottima motivazione per disegnare e creare! 

Ho anche colto l'occasione per sperimentare una tecnica per colorare nuova per me. Circa un anno fa ho comprato dei pennarelli Copic, ma dopo qualche esperimento li ho messi nel cassetto. Dato che questa volta avevo bisogno di una tecnica veloce ed efficiente, ho pensato che fosse la situazione ideale per buttarsi! Con piacevole sorpresa ho scoperto che anche con poca pratica e una manciata di colori si possono ottenere dei bei risultati! Probabilmente ne comprerò altri!

Quindi alla fine è stata una bella esperienza, grazie mille a @kristyglas per aver organizzato questo contest e a tutti i partecipanti (che hanno finito in tempo!)

Qui trovate:


Grazie!

Potete vedere i miei lavori anche qui:

..… ..… ..… ..…


@airmatti

llustrator, graphic designer

Outdoor adventurer

Folk and Blues enthusiast 

Team sports lover!

Sort:  

That's awesome @airmatti. I loved to see the steps that you took to get the result! Have you ever considered writing a children's book! Resteemed!

Thank you! I have a little idea about it but it's just on the initial steps.... hope to handle it!

Fantastico come sempre! The "little head in the bottom" looks like a mannequin-head!?!? Is that Steemitri?!?!?!?
Ciaoooooooo

Ciao grazie! Ecco cos'era!! :D:D

Congratulazioni, magari le sapessi fare io queste cose! Hai talento!

Grazie mille! ;D

Oh man, this design is too damn cute! That colored final pic looks book ready.

Thank you! I hope to work on a book one day... :)

Nice post ..... Creative drawing

A Border Dragon--I love it! This mythical beast would certainly have tons of energy - lol!
Border collies are one of my favorite dogs, and someday, when I have enough room for one to run around and maybe even a few sheep or alpacas for it to herd, I hope to have one.

Hehe I hope that it doesn't spit fire or might be a problem! Looks a really nice goal I wish you'll have the chance one day!

Thanks so much Airmatti, I hope so too!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by airmatti from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @airmatti, @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74