Howl Moving Castle Fanart

in #art6 years ago

thumbnail.jpg

This is my personal take on Howl from Studio Ghibli's "Howl's Moving Castle" animated movie.

I love his elegance especially his blue eyes and his golden hair (which changed as the movie progresses) <3

Here in my painting, it is a transition from his human form to his monstrous form.

IMG_20160707_132429.jpg

Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

PROCESS

I used Adobe Photoshop CS6 and Bamboo Wacom Pen and Touch.
I have different coloring styles depending on how I wanted the final output to look like.
So basically I experiment on whatever tools I have. A total artistic freedom.

howl-00.gif

Facts about the process:

  1. As I progress on my painting, I add the details little by little
  2. This piece has a lot of "soft light" layers on it :D
  3. The detailed process is same as how I paint the guy in this article
  4. This coloring style is from BnW to Colored, different from how Alura was painted.

Also I had a depression when I was working on this piece, that might be the reason why I feel like there is something while looking at this artwork.
If you felt it too, let me know...

Sort:  

OMG, this is my all time favorite fan art of an all time favorite masterpiece by Hayao Miazaki! I love it! Love it! Did I mentioned it enough? Hm, maybe not... XD ^.^ <3

I've always wanted to do a fan art of Howl, but couldn't decide on the pose, colors and composition in general, but this is amazing piece. It captures his characteristics and his intense gaze. whew

...instant Resteem... ^.^

Woaaahh! Thank you so much @katalinaooma <3
This is one of my favorites as well, hard to decide between Spirited away and Howl's moving castle. I love them very much. I watched this for the nth time, i can't track how many times i've watched it already. And I still keep fangirling over and over.hahahah

I decided to create a portrait fanart, i love to focus on his face , his perfect face HAHAHAHAH

anyway, you should create one, i'd love to see it :)

so you are the guy/girl ( let me know so in the future i can reply appropriately) that @jlordc was taking about! As i promised i came and check your posts!

i have said this again in one of his posts that showed your work, that you are a hidden gem! You are extremely talented and you have the skills! Don't be shy and show it via steemit to the rest of the world. I think you took the right decision to join the platform and as i saw you quickly gathered some people around you!

Continue what you do and take part in art contests. there are a bunch of them here on steemit and believe you not only you gonna earn new followers but also prizes!

Hi @filotasriza3 :D I'm a girl.hihihihi
@jlordc is my good friend, we were classmates during college.

Thank you very much! I am having a great time here at steemit. I feel really grateful to you guys who appreciated my works. I will continue to share them and join art contests. Thanks for the advise as well <3

Hauru is so majestic and more handsome than normal <3

I really love him so much XD Thank you @hedenus <3

Beautiful as always, that stare sends chills.
How long do you work on a piece on average?

Thank you very much @ascheriit <3
He's like looking straight at your soul hhahaha
Anyway, normally with portrait kind of illustration, it will take me at least 4 hrs on average :D

Woah, that's fast and the result is still that good.

Yeah, I can feel a creeping chill with that stare haha

Maybe i was just being used to it by now. You can be fast too,just keep practicing, i know you can do it! 😁

Thanks, I will try lol

You made him to be a handsome man, Adelair, I don't remember if he was good looking in the movie ^^.

I like his steel gaze, very arresting :).

-upvoted-

hihihi really? thanks @scrawly <3 tho I always view him as a handsome and elegant man.haha

The gaze was actually meant for me that time, it's as if I want someone to look straight to my soul and mirror the emotion I have. ^_^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

My favourite kind of arts * ____ * Gorgeous anime youth in semi-realism style * ___ *

He's beautiful, @adelair :D The hair is dynamic and flowing nicely <3 His skin is so smooth and lovely <3 And that cold blue eye * ___ * i love it!

The dark raven cape is also done so nicely <3 and I love that gif format of your step by step <3 <3 <3 I love this very much !!!

upvotes it and curates it for c-squared

Thank you very much @veryspider
Your comments always inspire me.

Good work! I like soft color palette you use for this artwork.

Thank you very much @abrahmatan
I'm glad you like it <3 This is my personal fave as well XD

This is breathtaking I love Howl!

Thank you so much @gabeecm :D
He is indeed so loveable <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49