Getting Started on Environment Art : Initial vs Final

in #art6 years ago (edited)

title.jpg

I'll be almost 4 weeks old here at Steemit so I looked back on the artworks I shared with you guys. I realized almost everything was focusing on characters, let me share with you how I started my environment art journey.

I admit it's really hard for me to create environment and bg. I totally regret that I keep dodging and working on these skill set before.

November 2017 - it's time to get started. I'm so lucky to have bpsola as my master, I can't believe I did this 3-days apart . And I paint this on Adobe Photoshop CS6.

compare2less.jpg

He is very patient with me and no words can express how much I feel so honored to be chosen! He is a very great master and will always cheer me up! :D

He will also tell me how much he's proud of me, well I always get emotional whenever this happens. I am still on my journey to be great like him as well! I am doing my very best always! <3

i cried.jpg

Okay okay, so before I get too emotional for this, here are some screen shots of the process:

  • (1) Setting the values

01.jpg

  • (2) Honestly, I did not understand what I was doing here, as you can see this is a failure, a total mess. This was my initial color draft, woooow what an incredible mess. I can't believe I totally nailed a perfect depiction of my life as a painting!

02.jpg

  • (3) If you are not satisfied of the result FIX IT! (just like how you should fix your life, don't ruin it even more) First, Identify where you got it wrong and never do it again. I went back to step (1) and redid my color draft, so instead of using "color" layer I used "soft light" layer.
    Credits to my master, he was really patient with me!
    Since it's and overcast, the ambient color should be a little gray color of the local color.

03.jpg

  • (4) The cabin seems to be a bit super simple so add complexity to give it more interesting look.

04.jpg

  • (5) Oh well, (4) still looks bare, then level it up a little bit. I add a wood storage area, clear stone levels and some extra stuff like the ax and the wood board. Also I changes the background scene since city silhouettes won't work on this rural vibe environment.
    - add definition to the material
    - paint by defining the highlights and shadows
    -study how light falls off to the grass
    -do this to all the grass and trees
    -lighter value on top of the element
    -darker value under the element

05.jpg

And now for the final result:

00 Season-overcastwith sig-less.jpg
Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Have you ever seen something so beautiful that you just wanna stare at it for hours? This is one of those things for me.

Wooow! That's so nice of you to say @ayushjalan XD I'm flattered Thank you very much!

This is a nice background scene, Adelair. I can see improvement from the first sketch, I think you succeeded nicely.

I'm so glad I did. Thank you very much @scrawly <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Very lovely work, @adelair ! The difference between the first and the final is indeed a marked improvement and I love how you flesh it out ! Good colours, great detailing, and really, a wonderful text to go along with this post <3

Thank you very much @veryspider .I was really frustrated at that time but I guess sulking doesn't do good, i was glad it turned out as one of my greatest lessons in life XD

Nice happy colors! :)
great saturation! love it, great art.

Thank you very much @ykdesign :D I'm glad you do

Such great talent! Thank you for sharing your work of art here in Steemit. Your post has been featured in @bayanihan's 43rd Philippines' Curation Updates, and received a 100% upvote. Great job!

Wow, It's an honor to be featured. Thank you very much! <3

Congratulations @adelair! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @adelair, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wooow! I am in awe! Thank you very much @creativecrypto , It is my pleasure that you guys appreciate my post <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31