Sort:  

I wouldn't say the system is rigged, but it's definitely a game and the "rules" aren't exactly disclosed.
I think bots are great, but it depends on what action they are programmed to perform. What is the intention of their creator?

To me, restricting all users (such as by banning bots) is not a fair or just solution because a few bad actors game the system.

To me, the ultimate solution comes down to individual revolutions in values - this particular post is an obviously a move to earn money for oneself with no consideration for the whole. I wish I had a solution for inspiring people to erase their greedy programs and replace them with care for each other, but other than using my own life as an example...I'm really at a loss.

So then if people are what they are and we can't change them, and if regulating everyone's freedom isn't the answer, what can we actually do to make this the best place it can be ?

Maybe the conversation this inspires will be more valuable than the shit post. Maybe it will be the shit post that actually changes things and we'll end up giving thanks for it!

I actually went to that person's profile, and they've done a series of these type of posts. I actually found it pretty cool. Brought up the ideas of "What is art?" "What can be art?" "Turning Trash Into Treasure" - it made me think of my "Brush Paper" paintings. I'm not sure if the post is any more "obviously a move to earn money for oneself with no consideration for the whole" than anyone else's posts on here really. Other than the fact they're using bots to upvote... Just wait until Coca-Cola and McDonalds figure out how relatively cheap it is to get on the trending page here. I worked in advertising for 17 years, 10-20 thousand bucks a week (which is peanuts for them, the total market cap of Steem is pretty much peanuts for them) and a bot and they could pretty much take over Steemit's trending pages.

The average social media user trying Steemit for the first time isn't going to care about the reasons behind them, they're going to be more like me - totally turned off when bots SPAM their first few posts and that's it, "This place is infested with bots, bye"

I guess there's some bots that are helpful and useful, but, Steemit is SUPPOSED to be based on content, and actual people engaging with each other based on that content. Otherwise it could be a slippery slope towards ending up like Facebook. That's my 2 cents anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66