Art Practice #1 - Find inspiration, build an oasis...

in #art6 years ago

This is a new regular series I am starting about the practical aspects of art, and I'm going to start with 'inspiration' (a topic I will come back to again and again I think).

If you follow my posts then you'll already know that I like to get out and about in nature. This is what makes my heart beat faster and my mind more focussed. I draw my inspiration from the things I experience as I watch the waves by the sea, or the light rolling over the hills, or sunsets...

But I can't always get away, so I've grown my own little oasis where I can sit and think, away from the noise of the internet and the world at large. I believe everyone should have a space like this to themselves.

DSCF4580edit STEEM.jpg

A fern unfurls by my small pond

Monet and his garden at Giverny is a famous example. Monet constructed the gardens full of colour and asymmetries, he had his ponds dug and enlarged, and he planted waterlilies...and we all know what that led to. Charles Darwin had his 'sandwalk' at Down House where he would walk daily to think. You too can have a little place to ponder and think...

When I first moved here with my wife, we had a flat, muddy weed-patch, full of builder's rubble. It's roughly 10 m by 7m and it has taken us many years to get it to this, but it has been worth it. Spring has sprung in my little corner of the world and I can sit and watch it unfurl...

DSCF4542edit STEEM.jpg

Bleeding Heart in flower

DSCF4560edit STEEM.jpg
Bluebells in bloom

DSCF4546edit STEEM.jpg
A Speckled Wood butterfly rests in my
garden, enjoying the sun

DSCF4552edit STEEM.jpg
And under the shade of a Greater Buttercup...

DSCF4554edit STEEM.jpg
...a common frog take refuge in my little bog garden

Spring always brings to mind the opening lines of 'Green Fuse', a wonderful and powerful poem by Dylan Thomas: "The force that through the green fuse drives the flower..."

I sit and watch this force at work in the seclusion of my own space, while the world outside these walls carries on. Here there is no noise, no confusion, just stillness and peace.

DSCF4574edit STEEM.jpg
A cool spot under the blazing May sun

IMG_0755edit STEEM.jpg
A place to sit and reflect...

IMG_0820edit STEEM.jpg
...even when the sun goes down

Sit and watch. Let your thoughts settle. Plant something. Tend to it and watch it grow. It's in these moments that inspiration can come...colours...patterns...heartbeats...

Make your own space in the world, even if it's in a plant pot or two.
It will help.

Adam.

All photographs Copyright of Adam Fryda.

Sort:  

Congratulations @adamfryda-art, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 47

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

That's amazing! Thank you so much for your support @asapers!

There is always to be found inspiration in Art. But an Oasis, well. I don't have one. Yours here is certainly looking good. I like how you relate to examples to pass home your thoughts. Thanks for adding value to the community, @adamfryda-art

This Post has now been chosen and will be featured in the 4th Edition of Xposed. Hopefully it will bring you some much needed exposure and rewards which your post deserves.
For more details on this project, read Xposed Introduction
You may also check out the 3rd Edition

Thank you @mirrors, your support means a lot!!

The pleasure is mine @adamfryda-art. The way you relate your thoughts to those examples is unique. I wish i could support you more.

Otherwise,

Finally the 4th Episode of Xposed is out. And you are featured.

Here is a link to it

https://steemit.com/curation/@mirrors/xposed-edition-4-monday

Now that you have been featured, my plan is to continue to support and promote you and the rest who are featured. I will now become a frequent visitor in your blog, upvoting any quality works i will find.

Meanwhile, i suggest you folow the @asapers. Have you heard about them? They are a group that curates the quality works of their followers. And yours is certainly quality.

Congratulations

Thank you so much @mirrors. Although i do not know you, i can see the quality of the steemians you pick to highlight, and i am delighted you think i should be among them. I have taken your advice and am following @asapers now, although i had not heard of them before. Looking forward to your daily Xposed episodes even more now!

I am excited @adamfryda-art. I am very honored to know you think the quality of the steemians i highlight is good. That is my interest. I think that there are so many newbies like us out there who are really giving their best and creating quality works.

Those works deserve exposure and reward. I hope that through this small project, i can lend a hand.

Thanks.

And by the way congratulations for getting the attention of @asapers. Keep posting quality works, and @asapers will take you high. I actually curate for them also. So just know you are at home!

Thanks @mirrors, can't thank you enough for your support :)

The pleasure is mine, @adamfryda-art. Your work is good, and deserves recognition. I wish i could do more.

But hang on...with more connections, that recognition and rewards will finally come. Personally although my voting power is still low, i will make sure to upvote each of your quality works.

You're an angel @mirrors, doing good work. I will make sure i make the effort to post great content to repay you for your kindness :)

I really admire your work. Well done. @adamfryda-art

Thank you @emmanuelacheamp, much appreciated my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70858.50
ETH 3796.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44