DRACULA’S CASTLE -Soft Detailed Watercolour Progress

in #art7 years ago

I have to say that I'm not crazy about Dracula’s myth, and that's not the reason I made this watercolor. The main reason is that the Bran Castle has an amazing medieval arhitecture and is actually very beautiful.

Bran 5.JPG


Here is a short description from Wikipedia:
''Bran Castle is known outside Romania with the name of Dracula’s Castle due to the legend. This castle became known abroad owing to the Irish writer Dracula novel Bram Stoker. The name Dracula comes from the surnames of Vlad the Impaler’s father, the Dracul, he was the member of the Dragon Order. This is the one of the most beautiful medieval castles in Romania.''


For this aquarelle painting I used as a reference a very beautiful picture of Cristian Balate, a Romanian photographer.

The progress:

collage Bran 1.jpg

In this stage, I want to reveal you a little trick about how you can make the sun or the moon in watercolors. Cover a coin in a napkin and lightly swab the place where you want the star to be positioned. This is a much faster technique than applying a liquid mask in advance like HERE in one of my previouse posts. Depending on how hard you press the coin on the paper, the edges will be hard, soft, and even lost.

collage 2 Bran.jpg

For the sky I used wet-in-wet watercolor technique and for the rest of the painting combined techniques.
collage 3 Bran.jpg

Few years ago when I last visited Bran Castle, I noticed that Secret passage inside the castle, connecting the first and third floors is the only breathtaking ‘’creepy” thing. :)

Bran 4.JPG

Bran 6.JPG

cover.jpg

DRACULA’S CASTLE

Watercolor on Arches paper


I hope you enjoyed watching the progress of this watercolor. In the future I will try a more washed technique and another angle of this wonderful castle, so stay tuned for updates.

Thank you for stopping by!
Best wishes and inspiration,
@aci7

Sort:  

Great watercolor work on the spooky castle. Really like how you made the moon and sky.

Thank you very much! :)

It is amazing)) Watercolor is my love... ))) I usually use acrylic, but this is really amazing) may be I should try... thank you for post and inspiration🌺

Thank you too for your appreciation! :) Yes, working with watercolors is quick and satisfying.

What an incredible post! So much info on the background of the castle and the history.

Really like the step by step illustration and you sharing your tricks!

So happy for your success with this, you really deserve it!!

Thank you so much @reinhard-schmid! You make me always feel great with your kind words! :)

Congratulations @aci7! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post, thanks for sharing!

Thank you too! I am glad you like it!

Thanks for sharing your talented work! The way in which you explained the process step by step makes it easy. I really like how the clouds look on the sky!

Ill be reading you from now. If you have time you should check out my content, you might like it. @aci7

Thank you! I think the sky part was the easiest one! :)

Went near this once. :)

Certainly, has not been haunted enough! :))

very nice work and well done post.. I also paint buildings, but I use pen and after I fill it with watercolor.. you can take a look if you want :)

https://steemit.com/art/@marty-arts/my-art-slovakia-in-my-artworks-trencin-city-video-process

Thank you for your comment! :) There are so many ways to use watercolours!

Wow! The sky and moon, so impressed, this motivated me to paint again :)

I am glad to hear this! :)

The moon!! I really like this one!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51