Social anxiety. Pen drawing.

in #art6 years ago

I recently bought some ridiculous looking magnifying glasses... to torture myself with even more detail in my drawings. This is the first piece I finished while using those glasses.

Social_anxiety_LARGE.jpg

9x12" pen on paper.

Screen Shot 2019-01-22 at 8.00.28 PM.png

I thought I had more in progress pictures but I guess not.

Social_anxiety_detail1.jpg

Social_anxiety_detail2.jpg

Social_anxiety_detail3.jpg

Social_anxiety_detail4.jpg

Detail shots.

And here are the glasses I used:

Me_glasses.png

I basically wanted to see what I could do with these glasses. It resulted in more hours into a 9x12" drawing. Tiny people, tiny doors, with many options.

Available here:

https://www.anthonychristopherart.com/artwork/social-anxiety

Stay grim!
Thanks for having a look.
Copyright @achristopherart. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Well certainly an impressive level of detail. I tell you what, that picture of you in the glasses is worth the price of admission. That is awesome.

I think in some ways the impact of all that tiny detail work is kind of lost at the larger level when you look at this piece as a whole. I would love to see a piece that combines a larger scale composition that reads better from a distance, with the crazy detail when you get up closer.

You're probably right. Definitely the best way to be viewed is in person. I like pieces that need to be looked at up close. But I have thought of the idea of making an overall bigger image. I will do it eventually. Thanks for the kind words and criticism.

You are definitely crazy.... in a good way XD. Please don't torture your eyes too much, though the artwork is lovely and crazily detailed. But still... I need you to make more of them.

I think I have a few years left with my eyes.

I just checked this out now - this is INSANE !!!
and yes about the glasses, I have a pair also - got them from Banggood.
I have a artist friend whom I also exhibited with, Ben Tolman - do you know him? He is also obsessed with small details
http://www.bentolman.com/

I was going to give you the page of his work on my VAG website when I realized I had not fixed it up yet (I have to reconstruct pages - over 500 artists, lots of work) - so now I did, and there you can see his older work from years ago, when we also used to work together on the Antipodes Project.
Here is his "fixed up" page now, and you find a link to Antipodes on it also:
https://www.vagallery.com/ben-tolman.html

Awesome, thank you for sharing.

Hahaha, this is so funny! I love that you're trying to do tinier and tinier stuff but not sure how good it is for your eyes though. Do you wear actual glasses?

I do not. All natural eyes!

That's aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamazing, Anthony <3 I love it !

LOVE. IT.

So many details and so apt in capturing how 'social anxiety' feels like.... I can feel it crawling under my eyeballs~ So fab~

Also you look really adorbs with those glasses on XD

Thank you. Looking forward to seeing what else I can do with these goofy things.

Wow! I can't say that I have ever seen tiny art like that! Glad your crazy glasses can help you accomplish all those itsy bitsy creations!

Extraordinary. I clicked on it as I have social anxiety most times. That picture of you with the glasses tickles me too. It must be quite meditative to do!

Posted using Partiko Android

I absolutely love your art work! So many crazy details...wow!

Good thing my computer monitor happens to be a big screen TV. Looks like I've found my new wallpaper!

Purrrfect. Use it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74