You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Deco Headpieces Part 1

in #art6 years ago

Those are more nouveau than deco. Nouveau is curved lines; deco is straight lines. I only know because I'm obsessed with the particular art styles...pro tips I guess :P

Sort:  

Pro Tip: The difference between Art Deco and Art Nouveau is not as simple as straight vs curved lines. Art Deco is characterized by geometric lines and some of those lines can be curved. I used elements of symmetry and repetition in my work which are important elements of Art Deco. There are many Art Deco buildings with curved lines (Chrysler Building). When I went on an Art Deco architecture tour in Europe I saw many buildings with broad curved lines. I don't think my pieces have enough "flowery" or natural themes to be Art Nouveau, however my goal was to not make headpieces 100% based on architecture. My goal was to combine elements of 1920's architecture WITH silent film aesthetics and costuming. I think Mae Murray and Ziegfeld Aileen Pringle would approve :P

True it's not really that simple as straight vs curved but when I think deco it's something like this:

But honestly it's not really that important. I wasn't trying to offend or anything like that. I just feel that the geometry of these pieces is more nouveau (the 2nd piece in particular). Which is actually a compliment because I like it better.

But, maybe that didn't come across in my original comment...I was just trying to say something more than just 'fantastic work', 'good job', or 'gold star' or whatever.

Thank you for the clarification. If you look at popular Art Deco wallpaper designs you will see the "fan chevron" pattern I used (in the first piece) is quite common. Circles and fringe are less common, however I wanted to add elements of silent film costuming.

In my opinion Art Nouveau is more asymmetrical with organic flowing lines. I think of flowers, leaves, vines, and nature. Actually, the robe I am wearing in the first picture Art Nouveau.

I will be making a green fairy inspired Art Nouveau headpiece soon so stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88